RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (88 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Having trouble with in-place family

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Nov 14, 2007 at 4:27:08 PM | Having trouble with in-place family

#1

RFarley


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I am working my way through the book; "Residential Design Using Revit Architecture 2008, by Stine and have hit a problem while trying to create an in-place family for a entry roof.

Following the lesson I have created the extruded shape, associated it with a reference plane, and assigned materials. When I finish the family it is not visible in any of my views. When I mouse over its location the geometry shows up, but when I click on it only the modification handles are visible.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? If this is how a typical entry overhang or porch cover is created it is very important for me to figure this out.

Thanks 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 14, 2007 at 4:55:50 PM | Having trouble with in-place family

#2

IDN101


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 31, 2006
127 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Sounds like your Cut Plane is too low? ie in a plan view, Revit is cutting your model BELOW the family you created.

 Does it appear OK in a 3D view?


-----------------------------------

www.RevitZone.com

News / Articles / Tutorials / Forums / Beginners Guide to Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 14, 2007 at 5:32:35 PM | Having trouble with in-place family

#3

RFarley


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


No, it does not show in 3D view, or elevations.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 14, 2007 at 5:48:17 PM | Having trouble with in-place family

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


may you did it as a void and not a solid

HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 15, 2007 at 1:27:18 AM | Having trouble with in-place family

#5

RFarley


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 26, 2007
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


coreed, your reply is interesting, but I am afraid that I don't know what to do in order to check it out or fix the problem. Can you give me some more information?

Thanks 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2012 having trouble loading profile family for wall sweep

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 11, 2011 at 8:20:42 PM

11

Trouble w/ In-place families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 10:25:03 PM

10

Trouble w/ interior elevation tags

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 4, 2010 at 8:50:10 PM

5

I am having trouble loading the structural trusses

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 7, 2010 at 8:58:09 PM

3

Creating a new ceiling family

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 12:12:11 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1567850

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9797

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights