RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

180 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dependent View Question.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 5:51:26 AM | Dependent View Question.

#16

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Why haven't anyone suggested groups?

Simply group the annotation, then any change to the group will be replicated through all instances...  Dependent views are not meant for the purpose you suggest.  Its purpose is to break up large floor plates into sections to fit them on sheets at workable scales.

Group your annotations, name them, then duplicate the view with detailing and change the scale.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 10:54:42 AM | Dependent View Question.

#17

dbillings3


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 14, 2009
32 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Chris,

I use scope boxes to break floor plates into sections. I have used dependent views for this too, but scope boxes work better for multi-story buildings, where I use one tall scope box to cover the same area of each floor. Besides, dependent views are more flexible than the grouped annotation method because I have the flexibility to hide or reposition annotation in a dependent view. If it's grouped annotation, all symbols will maintain the same position and visibility. I think that the purpose of dependent views is not completely defined, but I do know that others on our project team are using them for addendum also.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 1:29:45 PM | Hogmodo

#18

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Quoting Hogmodo from 2007-11-16 08:55:01

"

....................they are not nearly as powerful as I would like.  I use detail lines on my floor plan to indicate cabinets, kitchen equipment, and other details.  These are lost in callout plans.  They all come through on dependent duplicate plans.  I would just like to be able to add notes, more dimensions, elevation marks, etc. to a larger scale plan that will "update" if either it or if the original plan is changed.  I can have a different scale on my reflected ceiling plans, why not on "dependent duplicates?"

 

"

I also would like to see the detail be able to be transferred, but I know why that they don't. Its basically like this, Revit is designed to place the most detail a the larges scale. So, If I draw a section and then blow up part of that section, naturally I would have more "detail" on the larger scale. I current use Copy and Paste Aligned to transfer any detail components and text.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 1:39:05 PM | Dependent View Question.

#19

dbillings3


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 14, 2009
32 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Wouldn't model lines solve the problem of your detail not showing up at the larger scaled view?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 1:47:50 PM | Dependent View Question.

#20

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Model lines are useful but they also show up in 3D view. Detail components are 2D families and are very useful.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 2:04:10 PM | Dependent View Question.

#21

dbillings3


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 14, 2009
32 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Does anyone know how to keep the dependent view callout from showing up? They create a second callout that overlaps the original view callout. Dependent views also make a visible view box on the parent view if they have a different crop region. I can hide these by element, but it would be nice if I could prevent them from ever showing up in the first place.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 2:07:33 PM | Dependent View Question.

#22

dbillings3


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 14, 2009
32 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Is it a problem for the model lines to show up in 3D? I usually place them on an appropriate workset and turn it off in 3d views or all views by default. Sometimes I need to see model lines in 3D.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dependent views not the same as Parent view...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 16, 2017 at 4:02:18 PM

10

Can you make a dependent view with undependent template view?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 30, 2011 at 10:41:16 PM

1

Match line and dependent views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 4:00:57 PM

1

Project Browser - Dependent Views

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 17, 2015 at 3:57:21 PM

9

VG Annotation dependent view - revit 2015 student version

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 26, 2015 at 1:29:10 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1821234

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152005

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9171

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights