RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

226 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> suite or plain Revit Arch?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 30, 2007 at 6:12:21 PM | suite or plain Revit Arch?

#1

bakki


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 18, 2007
4 Posts
No Rating


Can some one tell me if any functionality of Revit Arch is compromised if Autocad is also NOT installed along side?

 For example, if I had to import a topo map dwg file to convert to terrain, can I do the whole thing in Revit or do I need Autocad to strip the file of elements such as annotations, cross sections, title blocks etc. I am trying to decide if the extra cost of the suite is justified if I don't need to use Autocad.

 Or to ask it another way, what are the situations where you cannot do without Autocad.

 

TIA,

 

bakki 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 30, 2007 at 9:06:35 PM | suite or plain Revit Arch?

#2

stevelj


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 9, 2006
23 Posts
No Rating


They are bascially giving you "plain" Autocad 2008 for free. and no, you do not need Autocad to run Revit.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 1, 2007 at 12:45:50 PM | suite or plain Revit Arch?

#3

IDN101


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 31, 2006
127 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Basic manipulation of AutoCAD files is fine within Revit- even controlling visibility of ACAD layers.

 If you're going to do much heavy editing of original ACAD files- then a copy of ACAD would be good.

 

But in my humble opinion- the sooner you can make the jump onto solely Revit, the better.

Regards,

Ian


-----------------------------------

www.RevitZone.com

News / Articles / Tutorials / Forums / Beginners Guide to Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 1, 2007 at 1:16:42 PM | suite or plain Revit Arch?

#4

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I am with a firm that relies heavily on AutoCad and are just beginning to rely on Revit. We are on Autodesk subscription and by purchasing the suite we get another Autocad license to install along with the Revit. It actually cost less to purchase the two programs together than to purchase them seperate. As for functionality I would have to agree with the above posts, It is not necessary to have AutoCad installed to efficiently work in Revit. That is what makes this program so great.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 1, 2007 at 1:54:15 PM | suite or plain Revit Arch?

#5

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


when i upgraded to Revit from ADt there was no differnce in cost to go with the Suite as oppose to just Revit alone. if that is the case still, then why not. i no longer have a license for Autocad Architecture, but i have Revit and Autocad if i need it.

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

BIM Manager Suite

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jul 2, 2014 at 12:38:50 PM

1

Autocad Architecture join the Revit Architecture Suite

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 2:14:55 PM

6

Override Cut Plain on individual objects

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 3:41:22 PM

2

WORKSET CAN'T CREATE IN DIFFERENCE SUITE SET

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 at 1:40:56 PM

1

Tag Suite and Maintain Rooms

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 28, 2013 at 1:58:38 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1690343

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151747

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1766

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights