RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

271 Users Online (143 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Visibility Parameters

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 11, 2007 at 5:32:10 PM | Visibility Parameters

#1

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


How do you link the visibility of a group (inside of a familty) to a Yes/No parameter. I thought that I had the correct formula but Revit doesnt seem to like it.

 

I would like to be able to turn the Student and faculty Desks off and on per instance.

 

Also is teher a general setting for the default number of backups or is that a per file setting? 



Attached Files

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 25, 2007 at 2:19:37 PM | Visibility Parameters

#2

IDN101


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 31, 2006
127 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Can I ask: Are you comfortable with using the Family Editor and creating your own components?

 If so....

 You need to set up a parameter, of the type Yes/No.

 

You then can control the visibility by using a Formula. I "think" it's something like "If Visibility=1" or something like that, entered into the Formular box of the setting you wish to control.

Regards,

Ian


-----------------------------------

www.RevitZone.com

News / Articles / Tutorials / Forums / Beginners Guide to Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 25, 2007 at 2:48:59 PM | Visibility Parameters

#3

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


I have been working with the family editor but I didnt know what the formula was. I knoew it could be done but after a few tries I gave up and created 2 families or groups.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 28, 2008 at 4:04:21 PM | Visibility Parameters

#4

malfonsi


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 28, 2006
20 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


I have been trying to control visibility within a family too, and I just figured it out.

 1) The object that needs to be visibly controlled within the family needs to be created as its own family and inserted as a component. Make sure under the "Settings" pulldown menu, select "Family Category and Parameters" and check the box next to the "Shared" Parameter.

2) Insert the object as a component in your family.

3) Open your "Family Types" window and pick the "Add" button under the "Parameters" heading.

4) Select the following in the "Parameter Properties" dialog box. a) "Family parameter" b) Under "Discipline:" select "Common" c) Under "Type:" select "Yes/No" d) Check the dot next to "Instance" e) Add a name unde "Name:" of your choice f) Select a "Group parameter Under:" to your preference.

5) Select "OK" when done with this.

6) Select the object you want to controll the visibility of and pick properties.

7) In the "Element Properties" dialog box, under the "Graphics" heading and at the right end of "Visible" select the little blank button.

Shadey The "Associate Family Parameter" box appears. Now select the parameter the you just made and select "OK" and hit "OK" again in the "Element Properties" box.

 I can not open your file because I am in Revit 9.1, but I hope this helps.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 28, 2008 at 4:39:23 PM | Visibility Parameters

#5

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Actually this is a rather old post. I have since figured out the yes/ no parameter formulas. I dont remember what the exact problem is but I believe that it had something to do with adding the "if" and figuring out the arguments.

Basically if I want to use the output of a yes/ no paramenter then the formula is something like this if(Locks,"A","B"Winking as opposed to the output of a integer parapmeter if(Locks=1,"A","B"Winking. And if you want to use a formula to define a yes/ no paramenter then its something along the lines of Locks=1 for integer parameters or not(Locks) for yes/ no parameters.

I keep trying to go back to excel formulas and that doesnt quite work. I think that I have most of Revit's formula quicks figured; let me know if you get stuck or need help.

As a side note  malfonsi is correct in that you cannot control the visibility (or much else) of an entire group , instead each component of the group must be selected through the group edit dialogue.

Thanks,

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Visibility Formula in Family Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 11:06:35 PM

1

Visibility Problem - please help!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 11, 2008 at 4:20:02 PM

3

controlling visibility with parameters

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 31, 2008 at 5:53:55 PM

2

Family elements replacable in instace level?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:07:45 AM

1

"Default" Shared Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 7:55:57 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1610512

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.0455

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights