RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

203 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit System Requirements for laptops?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Oct 10, 2007 at 2:05:22 AM | Revit System Requirements for laptops?

#1

Robb


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 19, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


I am configuring two Dell laptops online to run the latest versions of Revit and AutoCAD, Revit Building and AutoCAD2008. Could anyone give me some info on the right amount of memory, processor speed and video card to purchase to run these software?

 Thanks


-----------------------------------

Primary: Revit Architecture 2008\AutoCAD 2007Old Versions: Revit 9.1\AutoCAD 2002

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 10, 2007 at 2:32:17 AM | Revit System Requirements for laptops?

#2

KimWong


active
KimWong Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 16, 2005
74 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I am running my Revit on a ACER 4005 : AMD Turion 64 with 2G RAM and ATI 128 Mb graphic card. You need at least 1G or the more the better. My notebook can take up to 8G RAM but doubt there is 2G or 4G RAM in the market for my it. As for the graphic card your choice is quite limited.  Go for at  least 256 Mb card which is very common.

-----------------------------------
G'day mate. I am migrating to Sydney, Australia. Looking for Revit Architect position. Any taker? Thanks. Kim Wong.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 10, 2007 at 3:25:59 PM | Revit System Requirements for laptops?

#3

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I am running a Dell Precision M90 with Intel Core2 Duo 2GHz, 17in WUXGA screen, 2 GB DDR2-667 SDRAM, 512MB NVIDIA Quadro 2500M, 100GB hard drive, Windows Vista Business.  I still wish it was faster. 

I also run a Dell Precision Desktop with basically the same specs, and it is a bit faster.  The problem is you get used to the speed and then start wanting more.  My recommendation is buy a slightly more expensive machine than you think you can afford.  You'll wish you spent the extra few hundred bucks in a few months, and wonder why you didn't. 

 

Also, you can see more info in a previous post, but I would stay away from Norton.  I switched to Microsoft OneCare and have not had any issues with compatibility between it and Revit.

Hope that helps.

Cheers.


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 10, 2007 at 10:09:19 PM | Revit System Requirements for laptops?

#4

Robb


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 19, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the info. Right now I have a Dell M4300 in my shopping cart.

T7500 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM with XP Pro and a NVIDIA Quadro FX 360M, 512MB memory and 120GB HD. Price comes out to roughly $2,346. How's that look and sound for running Revit/AutoCAD? If it is overkill let me know where so I can bring the price down. Ifits okay, I may just push the button.

Thanks again!


-----------------------------------

Primary: Revit Architecture 2008\AutoCAD 2007Old Versions: Revit 9.1\AutoCAD 2002

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 13, 2007 at 2:09:36 AM | Revit System Requirements for laptops?

#5

Robb


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 19, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


Any suggestions as to whether the system I configured above is enough to run Revit Architecture 2008/AutoCAD 2008? Thanks!

-----------------------------------

Primary: Revit Architecture 2008\AutoCAD 2007Old Versions: Revit 9.1\AutoCAD 2002

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:28:12 PM | Revit System Requirements for laptops?

#6

Rookwood


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 2, 2003
36 Posts
No Rating


I had an 18 month old $6,000 GoBoxx (Clevo D900 chassis) workstation notebook fitted to the max with RAID 0 from Boxx Technology that ran Revit 9.1 great but couldn't open RAC 2008. It crashed one weekend and I was forced to make an emergency run to CompUSA and buy an $800 HP Pavillion dual core dv9000 with 2GB RAM and a NVIDIA GeForce Go 7600 card. Guess what? It has been running RAC 2008 just fine for 4 months now. I also last month had an $10,000 desktop workstation built as my main unit (which holds the rendering record on the AUGI rendering forum). But the point is, this little nondescript off the shelf consumer grade unit does a decent job.

The problem with notebooks is the high cost for a workstation that isn't too upgradable. As in my case, I overspent and got only 18 months use. My mobile unit now is a lightweight 17" screen and is easy to carry with me anywhere. My GoBoxx was 13 pounds and tore thru 3 bags in no time...2GB RAM with a decent dedicated graphics card.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

System Requirements

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 3:45:07 PM

4

Revit Building 9 System Requirements

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Mar 12, 2007 at 4:18:59 PM

4

Revit 2010 System Requirements

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 10, 2009 at 3:56:04 PM

0

one Revit license, two laptops

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 20, 2012 at 1:43:28 PM

5

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

Community >> Newbies

Tue, May 17, 2011 at 5:57:00 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1650523

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.3387

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights