RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

314 Users Online (158 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Detail components in multiple views.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 4, 2007 at 6:52:26 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#1

mebowles55


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 18, 2007
14 Posts
No Rating


There needs to be an option to create callouts that include detail components. When one has to change a detail component in three views (building section, wall section, and detail callout), it goes against the essence of the program. Perhaps detail components could be treated like symbolic lines that are only seen in parallel views.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 4, 2007 at 7:02:11 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


We usually keep our building and wall sections at a coarse detail level and only add large scale detail items.  Those views are there to show major systems and relationships.  When we enlarge areas of those to show how the systems connect and how you keep out the weather, then we add the detail items like caulk, blocking and actual window mullion head/jamb components.  I don't want a blob of lines where a simple rectangle can represent the window sill.

 

I think sometimes we have problems keeping our priorties straight.  What is the purpose of the view?  Don't over complicate the problem where it can be defined better elsewhere. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 4, 2007 at 7:10:42 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#3

mebowles55


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 18, 2007
14 Posts
No Rating


Agreed.

But our firm has chosen to show the individual masonry units or siding in each view. We're working towards the coarse detailing for our buidling sections but we will probably alway include components in our wall sections. So it would be nice to blow up the wall section detail components and then add more detail to the detail view. Something to consider.

 Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 5, 2008 at 7:31:53 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#4

amyrevit


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 10, 2007
2 Posts
No Rating


Is there a way to attache a detail component to say a post so it moves with the object?

Anyone?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 5, 2008 at 9:20:03 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#5

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


mebowles, if your walls are "built" properly you could just use a model pattern to represent blocks, siding, etc and then it will show up everywhere. Or am I missing the point of your question?

 

Amy, you can lock detail components, detail lines, etc to model elements. Just be careful because it is very easy to overconstrain the model with attachments to symbolic elements. In my expereince I will lock major elements but leave basic linework (i.e. wall base, etc) unlocked. If it doesnt get moved its not the end of the world. The drawigs may be a little sloppy but they should still convey the intent. I started out locking everything but "broke" the model and constraints to often and then sometimes I couldnt tell what was broken and what was still intact (well I could it just took to much time). So for now this is my workaround.

 

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 18, 2008 at 9:15:47 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#6

twhisker


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 5, 2007
110 Posts
2 Stars: 4 Votes


I agree that you want to drill down into information and not want your small scale drawing all muddled.  But as you drill down and get bigger in scale, you are layering up more information - you want to take all of the previous information and add to it.  Let's say you have a wood framed building.  You start off with a building section which at 1/8 scale, the model is sufficient but may want to add some blocking or how the 2nd floor is balloon or platform framed.  Then in a  1/4 scale wall section, you may wish to add in more details such as insulation and framing.  Then you may drill down into a window or soffit detail where you will add exteriro brick coursing and flashing.  You will want all the detail components from the wall section to appear.  I think it's rare that you draw a section and work UP to the smaller scale.  Therefore Revit MUST allow callouts to include detail components.  Otherwsie you are copying duplicate information which goes against the basic principles of BIM.  I cannot think of a case where you would never take the smaller scale information forward to a detail.

-----------------------------------
Revit Architecture 2010

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2008 at 12:38:20 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


We would all love to have all of the detail elements there once we place an item but that much information would really clog up a model.  Until we have mega systems, layering detail .... adding information as the scale increases is the best solution.

 

Remember,  If you add detail components to a view such as a 1/4" wall section, you can always window that view and filter copy all detail items then paste those "same place" in a blow up detail.  (no snap required) .... and you can always do this in reverse if you want to.  This is an easy process for the few times you may want to do it.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 7:46:35 PM | Detail components in multiple views.

#8

Morter


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 23, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


I agree with Twhisker, I don't think we should overcrowd your buildling sections with too much detail, but once you start drawing more detail in a wall section, and then an even greater scale detail of let's say a beam, a brick work, or so and so of the same wall... you should be able of just call it out like you can on autocad.

I don't see the need of a Megalayering system... after all it is the same view just in a larger scale... And after doing it a few times... that copy and paste business gets old Quick!...


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Detail components in multiple views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 1, 2007 at 12:52:46 AM

1

Visibility/Graphics and Detail Components

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 at 8:53:36 PM

2

Redrawing of Detail Components in Different Views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 3, 2007 at 7:22:13 PM

2

snap to filled regions in detail components

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Jun 7, 2005 at 7:14:19 PM

0

Using Region (hatch) in Multiple Views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 14, 2012 at 1:41:05 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1422512

Objects:

20406

Forum Posts:

150471

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2889

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights