RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

173 Users Online (172 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 18, 2007 at 8:26:18 PM | Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

#1

kczar


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 29, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


I have created a revit chair family with an imported cad 3d and the materials are not rendering as they should. I've assigned the layers accurender materials in Object Syles, but when I render the chair is not picking up the accurender colours.  This is the second family I have had this issue with and I can't work out what I am doing wrong - can anyone help? 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 19, 2007 at 10:42:55 AM | Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Go to the links on this site and look under tutorials.  Thre you will find a tutorial on "how to grow your families".  Follow that to learn what you are doing wrong.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 21, 2007 at 1:05:31 AM | Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

#3

kczar


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 29, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


I used this tutorial though I skipped the Studio Max/Viz component (#1-Shadey.  Is this necessary if the layers and accurender materials are already assigned?  The object had been rendered previously using Autocad.  I also started the family as Furniture rather than a Generic Model - does that make a difference?  I haven't worked with Max or Viz and this is my second render which probably complicates matters Smile 

 If it's necessary to use other 3d software I'll probably just stick to modelling my components in Revit!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 21, 2007 at 7:45:27 AM | Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


How it was rendered in AutoCAD has no meaning in REVIT.  This data is NOT transfered.  You must set up your REVIT family and your project's material's settings so they point to the correct AccuRENDER descriptions.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

RA2009 Rendering Materials

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 20, 2008 at 3:00:54 AM

1

Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 11:37:00 AM

5

Rendering the Wrong Material

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 18, 2009 at 8:53:57 AM

3

Accurender materials not appearing in VIZ

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 21, 2008 at 5:27:44 PM

0

Families don't take materials while rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 28, 2009 at 3:22:05 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1985386

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152178

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7951

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights