RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

206 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Sep 9, 2007 at 6:07:12 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#1

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


Hi there,

i have got a cabinet family which has a parametric length and variable number of doors.

i can change the number of door and the door size and location is changed accordinly.

when i change the length the doors the doors adjust accordingly.

the door is an inserted family which adjusts to the family parameters.

 

i have copied the door panel (and ungrouped the array)

and made a new array and gave it the same parameter name

it responds as expected when the number of doors is changed.

if i change the length however, the door size is changed as it should but the spacing is still according to the previous

door width.

(the doors either overlap or have gaps between then) 

the array has been made with the "move to second" and with the contrained box unchecked 

how do i make this array so that it adapts itself to a new length? 

somehow someone did manage to do it before i got this family.

 

would someone please help?

robert. 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 10, 2007 at 8:29:25 PM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#2

anthonyforlong


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 2, 2006
12 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

Its a little difficult to answer correctly without seeing your family file. However, it sounds like you need to add a parameter that controls the spacing of the array objects, Please post your family file and I'll take a look,

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 11, 2007 at 4:12:07 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#3

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


thanks Anthony,

i am just trying to attach a file now 

the row of doors in front of the cabinet was created when the cabinet was 3400 long.

when the length was set to 2400 long

the door width changed to suit the new length but the doors remained in the same location

and we now got gaps in between.

if you change the length back to 3400 you see the second row of doors overlap.

thanks for your help

this should be breeze for a kiwi

cheers

robert. 



This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 11, 2007 at 6:54:57 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#4

anthonyforlong


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 2, 2006
12 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi Robert,

Modified family file attched, does this help?

Regards

Anthony 

 



This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 11, 2007 at 7:24:49 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#5

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


Thanks mate,

that's a little ripper.

would you please tell me what you did because this is just a little test family.

did you create a new family for the door?

i applied a the panel width parameter to to the door panel before making an array and hah the same prob.

then i applied the same parameter to the door after the aray was made and that seams to keep it stabel

is this the correct way of doing it?

or did you do it differently?

i have asked many people about how to do these arrays, but you are the only who gave me a solution

thanks so much,

robert. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 11, 2007 at 7:30:54 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#6

anthonyforlong


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 2, 2006
12 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


You just needed to add a parameter that controlled the positioning of the panel doors; In this case I used the panel width that was already defined. Thus when Revit draws arrays the cabinet doors, Revit will know how far apart to position each instance. I hope this helps

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 11, 2007 at 7:48:07 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#7

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


thanks

that's what i was after.

just curious how it actually "locks onto it"

does that parameter actually replace the picked distance?

it would have made more sence if , instead of picking a distance, a parameter could be entered

cheers,

bob. 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 11, 2007 at 9:55:51 PM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#8

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


0.

Hi Anthony,

sorry to bother you again.

what you did works perfectly.

i still have a problem.

when i change the number of panels , my array does not respond to it

it changes the panel width but the number of panels remain the same.

would you be good enough to give me a step by step of the array and all the settings?

to start of, what is better aN imported family or just an extrution for the door panel?

do you make a group of it? 

if we decide on a family say

and then start the array, which items do we tick?

do set the number of the array in the option bar or on the screen?

and how do we make the array respond to a subsequent change of numbers in the family?

thanks so much,

robert. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 11, 2007 at 10:29:56 PM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#9

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


maybe this can help give you some insight to arrays and nested families

http://www.revitcity.com/tutorials/arrays_and_nested/

 HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 12, 2007 at 5:41:17 AM | ARRAY INSIDE A FAMILY

#10

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


thanks Coreed,

that's a good tutorial

best regards,

bob 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Editable nested family inside parametric array host family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 19, 2021 at 1:05:22 PM

1

Family w/ Array Formula

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 2:29:37 PM

8

2-dimensional Array of Arrays

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 3, 2011 at 12:47:12 PM

4

Radial Array in a Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 1:56:12 AM

2

Array on a Parametric Face

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 7, 2017 at 11:09:10 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1622693

Objects:

22000

Forum Posts:

151622

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7224

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights