RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

191 Users Online (73 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 5, 2007 at 10:00:40 AM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

Thread Post Kudo! #1

rmcd


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 5, 2007
6 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

We are using Revit 9.1Our machines have 2GB of RAMOur file size is 75MB

Both Arch & Structural Models are in the one file using a good number of worksets.We have up to 6 people working on the model at one time.We are have a lot of problems with stability and speed when "Saving to Central"

Saving can take up to 20 minutes, up to 10 just to reload latest on opening the model.Surely this is not normal?

And fatal errors are a daily occurrence.

Can anyone suggest any quick fixes or recommended procedures or solutions to improve performance & save time?

Also if you could give me an idea of how long saving to central should take under the correct circumstances, I know this varies depending on the work done. But a rough idea would do.

Any help would be great!

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2007 at 12:14:15 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Wow!  We think it's slow when our current 90 meg project takes more than 5-6 minutes.  This 90 meg project has 3 options in it and is linked to a site that has about 6 options in it and we are not having any problems managing these links.  We have worksets enabled but we have not really broken the project up into seperate worksets - just using the default worksets that REVIT creates.   We are thinking that we will need to better use worksets on larger projects but so far, we have not had to. 

 

Note that the help says that "Performance is improved if added worksets are not visible by default."

 

We have not yet found an engineer using REVIT so I can't really address that aspect but I'm surprised you did not split the structural out and just link the two portions of the project.  


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2007 at 3:31:51 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#3

rmcd


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 5, 2007
6 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


We didn't split the Arch & Structural into 2 files as we were under the impression it would not cause problems.

 Could this be the problem is a 75MB file to large?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2007 at 5:22:29 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#4

ArchWestCY


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 29, 2006
197 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


If the model contains both Arch and Struct data, how do you Copy/Monitor the model for changes.  I thought the whole point of having Arch and Struct models was so that Revit could monitor changes and interferances.  I haven't actually gotten to work with a Structural model yet, so this is just my understanding. 

What is your network speed like.  Are you using 10/100 eithernet connection or the newer 10/100/1000 connection?  We saw a great decrease in our "Save to Central" times when we upgraded to a Gigabit connection (10/100/1000).  For this to work you will need the server, the router/switch, and each Revit workstation to use the newer connection (10/100/1000).  

It does seem like a long time to wait for a save that really isn't that big.  You might consider breaking the Structual out just to save time.  Maybe also try to  Purge Unsued...  Though the size probably isn't the real problem. 

Good luck 


-----------------------------------
ArchWestCY

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 5, 2007 at 5:54:10 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#5

justinblack


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 22, 2007
62 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


We found ours was taking up to 35-40 minutes to save to central with Revit structure 4.  The biggest problem was having so many people (4) on the same file (central) at the same time.  If you save frequently it will save you time on your saves.  Plus if you separate the arch and struct. model that should split the number of people on the each, again increasing your time. 

I would maybe think about doing the arch as it's own central. Struct as it's own central, and then have another with the two combined. (possibly 3 centrals total.)

Or just "link" the others file into the respective disiplines and each be responsable for their own construction documents.

 Just a thought!

HTH

JB 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2007 at 7:13:18 AM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#6

rmcd


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 5, 2007
6 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


Yes in future we will definately have 2 central files. one for each discipline.

As for the copy monitor facility i'm not familiar with this so i don't know if that would be the main reason to split a model.

my understanding is that we have a 100mb connection to the server. the details of this i'm not sure, just what my IT guy told me

 Does anyone know how easy it would be to split the two model out after the bulk of the work has been modelled? 

i had a quick look at doing this and when trying to separate them i got a lot of errors to do with joined & constrained elements. If i ignored these errors would it mess up a lot of things?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2007 at 2:26:03 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#7

justinblack


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 22, 2007
62 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Though I've never had to so it, I would probably copy the central file to another location and then start deleting either Structural or Arch.  Then on the other I would start deleting the opposite.

NOTE: I would make an original backup before I start doing anything!!!!

Thats just what I would do.

HTH

JB


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2007 at 2:38:13 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#8

rmcd


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 5, 2007
6 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


yes, that is probably how to do it. would rather not have to.

 

thanks for everyones imput.

I'm really suprised that Revit is this counter productive with regard to time spent waiting on saves


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2007 at 2:45:05 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#9

justinblack


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 22, 2007
62 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


It seems to me even around my office here, that there's some people who are ready to throw Revit under the bus because of this.  You do have to remember what exactly it is that Revit is doing when it takes so long.  It's checking eveerything that you've moved/changed and comparing it to everything everyone (6 people in your case) else has moved/changed.  That's pretty sofisticated.  Besides, the fact that multiple people can even work on the same file at the same time is revolutionary!!!!!

My thoughts, not yours!

JB


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2007 at 4:49:43 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#10

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


A really helpful way to speed up saving is to do this.

Make a drafting view and call it something like "Save To Central".  Then every time you need to save to central go to that drafting view hit XX to close all hidden windows.  Then save to central.  If you are still having issues when trying that then make sure that you have only the worksets your working on opened, and you may still want to seperate into two seperate central files (I dont know who gave you the impression that it wouldnt cause any issues to have it in one).  Get 4 gigs of ram and put a 3gig switch onto your XP os.

 

After all that if it still takes for ever to save to central then you should do:

Go to drafting view "Save to Central"...Close hidden windows...Save Localy...Reload Latest...Save to Central  you can actually pick up a bit of time doing this as well, but first just try the things listed above.  

HTH

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 6, 2007 at 5:04:04 PM | broncos4life

#11

rmcd


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 5, 2007
6 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


Quoting broncos4life from 2007-09-06 11:49:43

"

A really helpful way to speed up saving is to do this.

Make a drafting view and call it something like "Save To Central".  Then every time you need to save to central go to that drafting view hit XX to close all hidden windows.  Then save to central.  If you are still having issues when trying that then make sure that you have only the worksets your working on opened, and you may still want to seperate into two seperate central files (I dont know who gave you the impression that it wouldnt cause any issues to have it in one).  Get 4 gigs of ram and put a 3gig switch onto your XP os.

 

After all that if it still takes for ever to save to central then you should do:

Go to drafting view "Save to Central"...Close hidden windows...Save Localy...Reload Latest...Save to Central  you can actually pick up a bit of time doing this as well, but first just try the things listed above.  

HTH

 

"
Thanks a lot that sound like sound advice! Cheers

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2007 at 12:07:51 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#12

rmcd


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 5, 2007
6 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


Tips to Reduce 'Save to Central' time

Open selective worksets instead of the full model. (see below)

Close any hidden windows before saving to central.

When away from your desk for any considerable amount of time close out of the model completely.

Save locally first & reload latest before saving to central.

Save often to reduce the risk of instability issues.

Reboot/Shutdown machine each evening.

Please add to this if you have any other tips!

thanks everyone


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2007 at 5:13:46 PM | Revit 9.1 Save to Central Takes 20 Mins

#13

modi


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 25, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


hi sir my name is prakshalmodi

my id is  prakshal4u@yahoo.co.in

i work on revit 2008

sir same probe accure when i work on uk base proj

there is 2 problem one family object is corrupted so find that per object edit fanily renamed it so definatly problem is solve and

DONT SAVE FILE TO GATHER IT TAKES TO MACH TIME SOSET WATCH FOR 10 MIN 1 USER ,20 MIN 2 USER TAKE IT STEP BY STEP ONE USER COMPLTE PROCIJOR ONTHER RIGHT TIME RL IT AND AFTER 5 MIN OHER USER SAVE AND  1 ONE RL IT

IF WORK IS HAVY TAKE THE OUT SOURCE WICH SAVE YOUR TIME CHEPER WAY WHEN YOU WORK AT THERE IT'S DAY HERE IS NIGHT YOU COMPLTE DAY HERE WORK IS START GET WORK DONE FAST

                                                                                                                                                                           THANK YOU 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

can't save as a central file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 7:35:47 PM

2

SHARING A CENTRAL FILE

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 20, 2008 at 7:08:49 PM

9

save central

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 8, 2009 at 2:02:46 PM

3

*URGENT * - Worksets & Links

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 7:41:28 AM

0

Error..wouldn't let me save to Central...help needed

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 28, 2007 at 3:48:56 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1781296

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151953

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.4975

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights