RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

76 Users Online (75 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Window Family Issues

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Sep 2, 2007 at 11:35:19 PM | Window Family Issues

#1

SCOTTY V


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
26 Posts
No Rating


hey guys, I've been stuffing around with this window now for 3 days... I'm going bloody crazy trying to get it to work.  I keep getting the 'this will make your model over constrained' error if I I try to place the width parameter on the Width.If anyone has 5 mins free to take a fresh look at it for me that would be much appreciated, I've been going absolutely nuts trying to do this one single window. If you don’t have any time, maybe you have some tips for creating family windows for me.  I've been using Revit for about 3 years now, but I've never really had to get down and dirty with creating some families till now.  Normally I can get them, but just not this one.  Thanks for any help you can give me guys and girls Cheers

 

Scott



This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 4, 2007 at 12:00:51 AM | Window Family Issues

#2

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3 Stars: 4 Votes


You have some extra dimensions that if you erase them allow the door to adjust. The one I see you don't need are the Sash Width. Not sure what you are making but you are useing a nested family. If you try and dimension a nested family it will over constrain the model. Looks like you need to add a parameter to adjust the width of the nested family to half the total width.

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 4, 2007 at 1:44:45 AM | Window Family Issues

#3

SCOTTY V


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
26 Posts
No Rating


Thanks robin Your input is very much appreciated.  I am trying to make fully adjustable set of sliding doors, with Adjustable Frame, Rails, Transoms, Height and Width.

After using this so long and looking back at the work I've done, and what I have ahead of me, I'm starting to think Revit is not a time saver at all.  If you are saving time are you not producing a quality drawing?  I started with Revit when I started really getting into architectural drawing.  So my Revit skills were developing along side my drawing, and detail skills.

Cheers

Scott


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 4, 2007 at 2:02:12 AM | Window Family Issues

#4

SCOTTY V


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
26 Posts
No Rating


I think the problem lies in the Ref Lines,  I've done a few different versions so far, and I use them to push and pull muntiple parts of the model around at once.  If I used my arrow keys the model width will move quite freely, but if I stick the dimention on there I am just told that I am over constraining the sketch.

 

BAHHH.... why do these things need to be so bloody complicated.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 4, 2007 at 3:20:44 AM | Window Family Issues

#5

SCOTTY V


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
26 Posts
No Rating


I think the problem lies in the Ref Lines,  I've done a few different versions so far, and I use them to push and pull muntiple parts of the model around at once.  If I used my arrow keys the model width will move quite freely, but if I stick the dimention on there I am just told that I am over constraining the sketch.

 

BAHHH.... why do these things need to be so bloody complicated.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 4, 2007 at 6:50:24 AM | Window Family Issues

#6

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3 Stars: 4 Votes


I have been using Revit for about 7 years. From version 1.8. I have significant improvements and produce a superior product to most in a much shorter time frame. I have reviewed you window/door and you need to look at making the panel just one quarter of the object. Your nested family is what is giving you the problem. Give the Nested panel the parameters through the window family. Do not try and constrain with dimensions the nested panels. That is not the way they work.

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

SECTION CUT VISIBILITY ISSUES WITH WINDOWS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 3, 2016 at 11:28:10 AM

9

How to build a butt joint corner window family?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 12:21:14 PM

6

Window Issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 13, 2009 at 10:10:56 AM

3

Window Family issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 14, 2009 at 5:09:52 PM

2

window flip issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 3, 2006 at 2:21:09 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2003444

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152177

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.6312

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights