RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

307 Users Online (117 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Cut geometry

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Aug 18, 2007 at 4:29:33 AM | Cut geometry

#1

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

I have created a kitchen cupboard family. This family can be placed anywhere and be adjusted in its dimensions. I have also brought in a sink family and positioned it accordingly in relation to the bench top.

Is there any reason why revit will not allow me to cut a hole in the bench top to suit the sink?

I thought the cut geometry tool works on anything?

cadjockey 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 24, 2007 at 2:15:57 PM | Cut geometry

#2

GVS02


active
GVS02 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Feb 1, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


Can you edit the counter top and draw a hole in it? Usually I have found that is the easiest way. Just like you draw a floor or a mass, draw the outside face of the countertop as a closed loop, then add an inner loop for you sink. I hope this helps!


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Aug 25, 2007 at 10:56:05 PM | Cut geometry

#3

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply,

Yes I can.

I was trying to avoid this as it means I will need to create a whole bunch of cabinet families just to cater for the different sink holes and cabinet pofiles. It would have been nice if the sink you decide to use in your cabinet would autonatically cut the cabninet top as you place it.

I guess once I have set up the different familes I shouldn't have to repeat each time.

Better get started.

 cadjockey 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 27, 2007 at 3:17:27 PM | Cut geometry

#4

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


If I'm understanding the process you are using correctly, you should be able to use your sink position parameters to make dimensions that correctly place your hole. You can add reference planes and parametric dimensions while in sketch mode to constrain your hole-cutting-lines to match-up with your sink. It's a trial and error thing, but you may be able to just pick-tool the sink ring and run with it.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 27, 2007 at 6:50:42 PM | Cut geometry

#5

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


(Deleted Duplicate, Sorry)

Edited on: Mon, Aug 27, 2007 at 1:51:14 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Cut Geometry in 3D

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 10, 2015 at 3:52:45 AM

2

Cut / Join - Geometry (api)

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 7:07:19 AM

0

Cut Geometry tool

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 1:30:04 PM

14

Diagonal End of Wall - Void + Cut Geometry not working

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 30, 2013 at 8:25:08 AM

8

Nested void geometry doesn't cut host solid

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 6, 2010 at 9:18:43 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1707287

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151787

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2774

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights