RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

223 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Standard Details In Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Dec 24, 2003 at 1:15:21 AM | Standard Details In Revit

#1

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


I work in an office where we do a lot of projects using the same details. I was looking for a way to draw up those details in Revit instead of linking to dwg files. I decided to draw each detail in my project file and make each detail a group. I then saved the group out of revit to my standard detail folder. All I have to do is load the group in my new projects! It's working pretty well so far.

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 13, 2004 at 6:28:55 PM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#2

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


The problem is you can't view that rvg file in a thumb nail like rvt or rfa files in Windows XP. A firms detail library can get so big they will need to rely on the naming organization and you don't know what your getting until you get that grouped file into loaded it into your project. AE 40+ users on revit. Post edited on 2004-02-13 12:30:34 Post edited on 2004-02-13 12:38:17

This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 14, 2004 at 4:59:40 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#3

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


so how do you guys do typical details? There has been talk of doing them in a template file and then copying them into your project whenever you need them. That way you can just open up the "details" template file and get a look at what you're getting.

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 3:40:51 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#4

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


A template file? Post edited on 2004-02-16 21:49:42 Post edited on 2004-02-16 21:49:59

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 3:51:45 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#5

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


Oh ok I see. Had to think about it. Post edited on 2004-02-16 22:21:24 Post edited on 2004-02-16 22:22:17

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 3:54:38 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#6

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


yes, you can set up a template file ( .rte extension) that has all your standard project components, wall types, titleblocks, etc... Templates are typically used as a starting point so that when you start a new project, all those standard things are already loaded into your project.

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 3:55:16 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#7

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


lol, ok....guess you got my drift while I was responding

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 4:53:44 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#8

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


We were probably typing at the same time. Smile As you can see there was more to my response but I had to edit it. We do different build types and certain details don't apply. For example a jamb detail for an automatic slider in residential construction just won't do. I usually keep the default template for things like lineweights, viewtitles, keynotes, textstyles etc.. By grouping a new detail and saving it into a network database you can load it into your project and modify it if needed. Unfortunately that database can get rather large and the file naming becomes important when you’re trying to find what you need. Post edited on 2004-02-16 22:56:34

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 5:42:06 AM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#9

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


what I was saying was you could have a file called details.rvt or details.rte that had all of your details in a drafting view. you could go to that drafting view and pan around to find the detail you were looking for and then select it and copy/paste it into your project file. That way you don't have to rely on naming convention so heavily and you can actually see what you're getting before you copy it in.

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2004 at 2:41:56 PM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#10

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


It would solve the problem as far as viewing them. I guess I would need to develop and naming convention inside the template to organized them. The thumbnail would be nice so a detail library could be structured like a family library with different categories and what not. Gotta think about it.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 17, 2004 at 2:30:48 PM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#11

sjs


active
sjs Avatar

Joined: Thu, Mar 11, 2004
41 Posts
3.5 Stars: 10 Votes


What you tring to do seems to be a great idea. Right now, for the drafting details, i draw the details and save like .rfa, then i insert like Symbol. This way i could insert details in the Sheets too.

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Jun 20, 2004 at 12:10:58 PM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#12

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I haven't posted here, this seems to an old thread, don't know if anyone will see this...

Isn't there new standard details creation method in 6.1? Isn't there a way to do so [like acad saving of a block] or some other method?


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 21, 2004 at 2:29:39 PM | RE: Standard Details In Revit

#13

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


I haven't heard of anything like that. Let us know if you figure that out....

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 24, 2010 at 6:36:44 PM | Standard Details In Revit

#14

Erhull2


active

Joined: Mon, May 24, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


I understand that this is an old post and has been dormant for quite some time, however Revit users are still facing similar issues in regards to creating and maintaining a library of Revit-built construction details and I hope that this post can be of help to firms looking for information on the subject.  I am an employee of ARCxl.com which has recently begun offering common and completed 2-d architectural Revit details in drafting views made accessible through a convenient web interface.   It is designed to aid architecture firms that are in the process of transitioning to Revit or have yet to create an extensive library of native, Revit-built construction details.  The interface allows you to select from our current library of more than 36,000 details and customize them to fit your specific project requirements. All of our details are comprised of 2-D parametric components and can easily be inserted into a Revit project.  You can visit the site at www.ARCxl.com, download samples and try the interface in demonstration mode.  I hope this helps.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 5:07:08 PM | Standard Details In Revit

#15

dannidw


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 19, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Create a new Revit Project.  Label it something like standard details.  Use drafting views and import those dwg files.  Create a cataloguing system - probably the same as your DWGs.  Fix all the lineweight/colour issues (it will take a little work - but now you'll only have to do it once instead of everytime).  Then save.

In your project, go to Insert > Insert from File > Insert views from File.  Then select which views you want to import.   


-----------------------------------

Danni D. Waddell

Designer

Tevis Architects

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Standard Details in Revit, How?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Apr 16, 2019 at 1:47:29 PM

3

Standard Details [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 5:18:44 PM

17

Linking Standard Sheets from Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 17, 2010 at 9:16:17 PM

4

Autocad details to Revit

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, Nov 4, 2005 at 12:25:49 AM

1

aia architectural standard

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 6, 2009 at 9:20:46 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1462973

Objects:

20996

Forum Posts:

150937

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.0412

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights