RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

161 Users Online (61 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 15, 2007 at 1:14:37 PM | Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

#1

natep


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 18, 2007
4 Posts
No Rating


We did some study for the computer spec for REVIT and the results are very interesting. Maybe someone can explain this.~

We compared 2 computers, desktop with Pentium D 2.80 Ghz with 4 GB of Ram and Laptop intel centrino with 2 Gb of Ram. With the same procedures, the laptop can processes almost 40% faster than desktop. After looked at the journal files, we found that the L2cache of the desktop is = 0. Our IT guy checked the desktop and found nothing wrong with the L2cache. Can anyone explain this??

 If you want to see the jounal file, leave the E mail and I can send it to you.

Thanx.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 15, 2007 at 2:40:03 PM | Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Pentium D is old and out-dated technolgoy. what's the FSB (Front Side Bus) speed. what was the laptop running?

if Intel, your minimum Desktop should Duo Core 2 technology at least

HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 15, 2007 at 3:32:43 PM | Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

#3

natep


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 18, 2007
4 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for your reply. I understand that Pentium D is old and out. But, in my opinion, centrino with less RAM which is even older and not supposed to run faster.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 15, 2007 at 5:20:53 PM | Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


centrino is the moble technolgy . it all depends on what version of centrino you are talking about. this technology is upgrade along with new processor technolgoy. i think the latest version is Intel Centrino Duo which use the latest Intel chips.

HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 15, 2007 at 7:25:19 PM | Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

#5

bradc16


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 15, 2007
1 Posts
No Rating


The tests were actualy run on two different desktops and the laptop.

The theoretically fastest machine was a desktop with the following processor:

Intel Pentium D 925 Duo Core 3 Ghz, 800 Mhz FSB, 2MB L2 Cache

The Laptop's processor is:

Intel Pentium M 2.26 Ghz, 791 Mhz, 2MB L2 Cache

In looking at the journal files we noted that the laptop journal file indicates the L2 cache properly as 2048 while the Desktop journal file indicates the L2 cache is 0.  Not sure this has anything to do with the performance difference, but it is the only clue we have found to explain the underperformance of the desktops.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 19, 2007 at 10:39:34 AM | Quesiton about Computer spec. for REVIT

#6

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


no point in buying any new hardware at this time because

revit will soon go 64 bit and only then will you need to

buy new hardware along with Vista64..


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Best computer setup for Revit 2001

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Mar 1, 2011 at 9:35:00 PM

2

e-Spec evaluation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 4, 2013 at 3:56:01 PM

3

Computer Specification for Efficient rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 16, 2009 at 9:33:20 AM

1

Revit and Sat file importing pc spec?

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Mar 15, 2010 at 4:55:15 PM

1

How to add objects on tables , i.e Computer screen on computer desk.

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Oct 18, 2016 at 6:22:58 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1797202

Objects:

22517

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7608

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights