RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

187 Users Online (54 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 28, 2005 at 4:12:22 AM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#1

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


This can be achieved in ADT (with some difficulty though). Rigde capping is obviously an integral part of a sloped / hpped roof, and just as crucial as guttering. Vally gutters are also an important roof component. Without both of these, you end up with an unwanted sprinkler system in your roof. So, can they be modelled in Revit??

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 28, 2005 at 4:20:56 AM | RE: Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


This can easily be done using hosted sweep-->roof fascias with the appropriate profile applied. Then its a simple method of selecting the edges you want the capping to be applied... HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 28, 2005 at 4:24:43 AM | RE: Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#3

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Try this AUGI thread, there is an easy workaround on ridge capping.. you have be registered to AUGI http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=1706&highlight=roof+ridge

-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 28, 2005 at 4:31:39 AM | RE: Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#4

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


What would I do without you guys??? Thanks!!!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 29, 2007 at 3:59:11 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#5

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


A couple of things.  First, that link doesn't work.  Second Mr. Spot.  Do you have a profile I can use?  Because I've tried to create it and a roof ridge cap and I can't create one appropriatley without it hanging over the roofs corner.  If I can get your profile I could edit it accordingly.  Or just tell me how to make a profile work.  Thanks.

 

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 29, 2007 at 11:25:28 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#6

eleven


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 29, 2007
1 Posts
No Rating


what family type do you begin with?

-----------------------------------
rocketman

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 30, 2007 at 3:13:55 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#7

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I start with a blank profile family template.


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 1, 2008 at 10:21:43 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#8

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Does anyone know how to make a Roof Ridge Cap?  I don't know how to make a profile to work with a different slope each time?  Anyone know how to do this?  It would REALLY help.  Thanks,

 

Lorne

 

PS-Look at image.  This is what I want on all my roofs.  Just pay attention to the cap, not the space for ventalation.  I don't want this space in my model.  Just the ridge cap.  How do I do this?



Edited on: Fri, Feb 1, 2008 at 4:40:32 PM

Attached Images

32450_Ridge_Cap.jpg

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 2, 2008 at 3:59:41 AM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#9

TRUEVISIONS


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 18, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


Lorne17,

        You could make the ridge cap with another style of roof. IE 1" roof with same pitch, refence it to a new level ?" below the ridge line. Once created you can join the two roofs. This will give it the apperance of a ridge cap. It will not show right in a section howerver so you will need to draw in the detail.

Hope this helps..

TRUEVISIONS

JED 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 4, 2008 at 3:04:24 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#10

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Ok,

So I went ahead and tried to create another roof as thh roof capping.  But it can't make roof footprint.  I think the reason is because there is a slope on the capping in two directions.  Going perpendicular to the line as well as following the slope of the roof below it.  The capping needs to be at all peaks, not just the main "level" ridge of the roof.  Any ideas?  I think for now I need to use modeling lines.  That's all I can think of doing at this point.



Attached Images

32493_Ridge_Cap.jpg

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 4, 2008 at 4:47:01 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#11

TRUEVISIONS


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 18, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


lorne17,

    The only thing I can think of is to create seperate roofs for each and at each hip joint to andge the roof to meet the other. This would be a pain to get them all at the right levels and tho line up but it would work in the end. Then again at the end you can join them all. You may also want to do some searches at other REVIT sites to see if anyone has created a roof cap that would work for your version.

HTH

TRUEVISIONS 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 4, 2008 at 5:01:27 PM | Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

#12

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Yea, that would be a pain.  What I ended up doing was creating a Filled Region that is solid white, and created it 2D in both site plan and elevations.  It's not as important to have in 3D and we don't need it for sections.  We'll re-draw it when we get into detailing it.  So this is a temp fix for now, but would love to know how to do it in the long run so that I may be able to have it in site and elevations without drawing it in 2D.  Make sense?

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ridge Capping?

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, Jan 27, 2017 at 12:44:05 PM

8

Ridge Capping

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 11:59:24 AM

1

Ridge Capping in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 6:46:14 AM

2

roof ridge capping

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Sun, May 21, 2006 at 4:40:53 AM

0

RIDGE CAPPING??

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Aug 25, 2006 at 12:21:01 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1653732

Objects:

22109

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2117

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights