RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

226 Users Online (134 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> editing split face boundaries

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 8, 2007 at 4:22:23 PM | editing split face boundaries

#1

inverted


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 20, 2006
47 Posts
No Rating


I would think that if you can edit the boundary of the floor, you should be able to edit the boundary of the floor's split-face regions, or at least delete them. Is this not possible??


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 8, 2007 at 4:33:30 PM | editing split face boundaries

#2

t1slc


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 25, 2007
45 Posts
No Rating


It is possible. You just need to select the split face line (instead of the entire floor) and click edit. Give that a shot.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 8, 2007 at 4:44:19 PM | editing split face boundaries

#3

inverted


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 20, 2006
47 Posts
No Rating


WOW. i do not know how i missed that. i totally feel like i tried that and it didn't work.... now it does. i feel dumb. thanks.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 8, 2007 at 4:57:23 PM | editing split face boundaries

#4

inverted


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 20, 2006
47 Posts
No Rating


WOW. i do not know how i missed that. i totally feel like i tried that and it didn't work.... now it does. i feel dumb. thanks.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 2:53:43 PM | editing split face boundaries

#5

RLAKES


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 14, 2007
31 Posts
No Rating


I'm having the same problem but am unable to tab through to get the split face boundary.  It will only allow me to select the ceiling (I'm splitting a ceiling) or the hatch lines.  I've tried and tried.  Any ideas?

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 3:34:01 PM | editing split face boundaries

#6

t1slc


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 25, 2007
45 Posts
No Rating


Is it possible that your split face boundary is in line with a hatch line? I know that tabbing should get you to it, but maybe there is a glitch.

Otherwise I would make sure that you have your boundary lines visible in the visibility settings. I'm not sure off hand if this is true, but I imagine that the SF boundary line is like a room or area boundary line and you can turn those on and off?

You could also turn off the hatch to see if the SF lines become more visible. 

In my limited experience, the SF command sucks. It shouldn't suck because it would be a handy tool, but I kept having issues with faces that I split acting inconsistently. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 4:02:07 PM | editing split face boundaries

#7

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


I've had the same issue before and I tried turning off the hatch and still wasn't able to select the split face for editing. What does work is just do a crossing selection on you ceiling where you know the SF is and then do a filter selection from the options bar. It should show up as Split Face and just uncheck everything else and there you go. A lot faster than trying to mess with it.

 

HTH 


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 4:10:46 PM | editing split face boundaries

#8

t1slc


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 25, 2007
45 Posts
No Rating


Good call, I forgot to mention that.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 8:11:26 PM | editing split face boundaries

#9

RLAKES


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 14, 2007
31 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Brett.

Your selection solution works.  I can select the split face line by drawing a box around it.  It's strange though, it doesn't turn red, it stays looking the same after I've boxed it.  The only difference is that an Edit button appears.

 

I can't find anything in visibility graphics that would cause this.  All my model lines are turned on.  The element's properties categorize it as a System Family; Model Lines and after boxing it, when I check in the filter, it says Split Face.

 

This still seems like a glitch.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 8:26:40 PM | editing split face boundaries

#10

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Great! Glad that worked out for you.

 


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 2:09:30 PM | editing split face boundaries

#11

RLAKES


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 14, 2007
31 Posts
No Rating


I'm filing a service request for this issue.

 

We were thinking of using the split face tool on our RCPs to make all the ceilings of the same height into one ceiling element with split faces to represent different hatch patterns and hatch alignments.  This was suggested to us by a Revit consultant in order to minimize the file size that our ceilings add to the model.  This difficulty editing the split face boundary is going to keep me from rolling out this method to the entire team because of their range in skill levels and the problems/frustrations it could cause us as a whole.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 2:26:52 PM | editing split face boundaries

#12

t1slc


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 25, 2007
45 Posts
No Rating


I agree that split face is a really poor tool. What would be nice is the ability to slice an entire element, similar to the slice line and wall command. That way you could divide up a floor or ceiling and just apply a different type without having to recreate new sketches.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 2:43:18 PM | editing split face boundaries

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


I think split face is a poor tool to use here.   Remember, split face is just a visual tool.  As such, any quantity data that you might want to extract will not be correct.  In addition, ceiling tags will not work because they reflect the overall family and the spit will be tagged the same as the remainder of the ceiling.

 

We reserve the split for use in same material but different colors/textures. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Split face boundaries - visibilty control

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 22, 2009 at 3:51:25 AM

0

SPLIT FACE BLOCK

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 18, 2006 at 3:41:24 PM

1

Split Face boundary graphic control, Revit 2017 LT

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 15, 2017 at 11:24:20 PM

0

Split face on floor?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 18, 2015 at 7:16:28 PM

8

Edit Split Face on Ceiling

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 25, 2010 at 10:42:26 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1455219

Objects:

20599

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2743

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights