RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

260 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Fire Ratings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 1, 2007 at 3:16:41 PM | Fire Ratings

#1

Silva


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 9, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


How would I go about drawing thick, dashed lines to indicate fire ratings of walla and slabs?  Would I just use the Line command and choose the desired types for 3/4 hr, 1 hr, o hr etc...?

 thanks

 Silva the Newbie


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 3, 2007 at 3:59:33 PM | Fire Ratings

#2

Motorcity


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 23, 2006
39 Posts
4 Stars: 2 Votes


We draw model lines on the floor in plan views and set the view to "wireframe".  The model lines are custom line types that we made that closely resemble our old Autocad firewall drawings.   We tried a repeating detail firewall tape but had little success with it.

-----------------------------------

Motorcity Job Captain VOA Associates, Inc.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 7, 2007 at 12:41:29 PM | Fire Ratings

#3

Silva


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 9, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


thx!

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 7, 2007 at 1:53:39 PM | Fire Ratings

#4

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Take a look at the word document i have attached.   This first page shows 3 walls that we have: 1hr, 2hr, and a smoke partition.  The second page shows the properties of the wall.  The cut pattern just has a drafting hatch imported from autocad.  This is the same way we have all 3 of thoes wall types.  This would just be for the walls, Im not quite sure how to do it for a slab, but you could just put the same type of hatching on the surface pattern of your slab.  This way you dont draw a ton of model lines on floor plan.  It is automaticly done when you draw the 1hr wall or which ever.  I think you will find it much easier than just drawaing a ton of model lines in.  Let me know if you have any more questions.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 7, 2007 at 4:49:22 PM | Fire Ratings

#5

MattEarl


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 12, 2006
14 Posts
No Rating


I use Hatch patterns as well, seems to work pretty well for us!  I've attached them also.  I use a visibility cut filter for the fire rating.  Enjoy



This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 3:46:13 PM | Fire Ratings

#6

cholden


active
cholden Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jul 5, 2007
37 Posts
No Rating


I know this thread is a few years old but I am trying to use these fill patterns in RA 2009 with filters for our fire ratings in 1/8" plans.....and they're all showing up as solid - not hatched. I have tried setting it to keep readable, orient with view, and align with element. They all look the same - solid. Is there a trick to setting these up?

Thanks - Christina


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 3, 2010 at 7:00:12 PM | Fire Ratings

#7

suedehart


active
suedehart Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 12, 2007
55 Posts
No Rating


cholden, did you ever figure out how to make these hatches show up correctly?  I'm having the same issue with it coming out solid black...

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 1:12:37 PM | Fire Ratings

#8

arch82


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 23, 2011
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I am having issues trying to find/make a (1 hr fire/ smoke barrier, 2 hr fire/smoke, 3 hr fire/smoke) pat.



Attached Images

146401_WALL_RATING.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 1:41:51 PM | Fire Ratings

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


You say ".pat" but you show lines.   Obviously there are some words missing in your post like what are your problems?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 1:58:33 PM | Fire Ratings

#10

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


If you are trying to make these lines you can do this under Manage -> Additional Settings -> Line Patterns and then create a new one. Once you have done that you can change the colour under Manage -> Additional Settings -> Line Styles.

Hope that helps


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 2:05:14 PM | Fire Ratings

#11

arch82


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 23, 2011
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Well i would like to have them as a pattern like the image attached. I am trying to have them look like the lines where the patterns have the correct spacings similar to the lines.



Attached Images

146407_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 2:37:34 PM | Fire Ratings

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


May I offer a suggestion?  Patterns like this will probably never work.   Walls are not all horizontal like your image.   They are at all sorts of angles and even arcs.  Even in Cad, this can not work.

 

We create a fire rating plan where all of the mode, architectural elements are screened.   Then we add the appropriate linework along the center of the walls to indicate the rating.   This is still fully BIM because our walls are tagged in the model with an appropriate tag that is scheduled for the correct rating and shown in the wall legends.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 2:51:07 PM | Fire Ratings

#13

arch82


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 23, 2011
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


So you are adding a model line to those fire rating walls and then have a wall which already has all the information when you tag it, correct.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 3:26:07 PM | Fire Ratings

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


NO!   I would never use a model line here.   This line is only meant to show in one view and does not need to be scheduled.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 3:31:37 PM | Fire Ratings

#15

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


As WWHUB said, doing this as a pattern instead of a line type would essentially be impossible. The best practice is to do it as a detail line (not model line) and draw it along the centerline of all your walls. Line patterns in revit can support a repeating pattern of up to 10 differing line lengths and spaces and in your image the most you need is 6 with the 4 hour fire wall/smoke barrier which has 2 lines and 4 dots repeating.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

.Pat Files - Creating new hatch (fill) patterns... with letters (Fire ratings)

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Mar 19, 2010 at 4:58:57 PM

1

formulas for fire rating.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 1:24:03 PM

0

Fire ratings Walls Lines and Tags Smart or what?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 5:01:19 PM

1

Wall patterns?

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 31, 2011 at 9:17:20 PM

0

Wall Types and Fire Ratings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 30, 2011 at 6:59:50 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1469808

Objects:

20534

Forum Posts:

150614

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3924

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights