RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

242 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Problems with linked AutoCAD files

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 25, 2007 at 8:59:09 PM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#1

rayhorn13


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 16, 2006
14 Posts
No Rating


We're just getting into Revit Structure (we have the latest build: 20070607_1700) and because of time constraints of the project we decided to handle the typical details in AutoCAD ( v2008 ) and link them into Revit. That is where we are running into a number of problems. I have attached 3 screenshots: 1st is the print preview of the actual CAD file2nd & 3rd are of the actual link showing in Revit. I have indicated the 4 items on the screenshots.-------------------------------Ellipses: the hatch patterns are showing up as solid in some of the details we link in to Revit (middle), but not all of them (right).Rectangles: text that is underlined in CAD (%%u) is missing the underline once linked into Revit.Arrows: the nice even spacing between the text and the line in CAD is gone in the link when the text gets shifted up.Yellow highlighting: all of the text in CAD has apparently had the width factor changed once linked into Revit.-------------------------------Are others experiencing any of these issues? Are there any settings, fixes, etc., for either AutoCAD or RST2008 that will solve these things? Is it just my inexperience?It really makes the linking of CAD files a useless excercise and makes our drawings totally unacceptable & unprofessional. How would anybody feel if we sent our structural drawings to you like this?PLEASE - somebody shed some light on this for me. Many thanks in advance.



Attached Images

26012_rcity.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 25, 2007 at 9:51:37 PM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#2

TJKENNEDY


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 12, 2007
126 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I have run across the same problems when linking detail sheets. I dont know a fix for the hatch, I have hade some luck with erasing and re-hatching. Revit doesnt seem to like the autocad %% codes, I am assuming you are using dtext, try using mtext and use the underline button. Text spacing, I dont think I have had that problem. Width factor, I dont remember what I did to fix it, sorry. My only suggestion for that would be re-inserting the text.

 

I hope at least some of that helps, unfortunatly linking details isnt perfect and takes some trial and error to get it working right. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 1, 2007 at 4:06:42 PM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#3

tim1424


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 6, 2007
46 Posts
No Rating


I've had this problem as well when linking a dwg to Revit with certain hatches.  I know it's against the golden rule of Autocad but if you explode the hatch in cad, the hatch usually shows up fine in Revit.

 HTH


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 1, 2009 at 11:37:38 PM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#4

Fluffyfatcat


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 16, 2006
50 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I've got similar problems when exporting Revit model to Acad. I usually import Land Survey, which is Cad drawing, into my Revit Site plans and when I export it back to Cad all Autocad links are stripped, I beleive it happens because Revit only reads link as overlay? (if you import instead of link it exports ok). I also have problems with exporting masking regions, they come out transparent ..

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 9:28:22 AM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#5

FJ22


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
37 Posts
No Rating


Hi there,

I don't really have a solution for exchange between ACAD and Revit, but why do you want to import your details into Revit? Why don't you just publish your details on one (or more) sheet(s) (made in AutoCAD) and publish your other drawings with Revit?

I mean it's almost impossible to let Revit drawings look just like in AutoCAD so don't try to go there.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 11:54:06 AM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I can understand that sometimes you might have to export to CAD, we do because of owner requirements.  For your problem Fluffycat, link the site then export without the link and re-link in CAD.

 

I don't agree with FJ22.  We don't like split files and there is no reason to detail in CAD.  Detailing in REVIT is easier.  The sooner you convert your CAD legacy details to REVIT, the better off you will be.  DETAIL IN REVIT!



Edited on: Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 7:00:53 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 2:22:18 PM | Problems with linked AutoCAD files

#7

FJ22


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
37 Posts
No Rating


@WWHub: I never said I don't like to detail in Revit. I think it's great, once you know a great deal of the opportunities within Revit it's really fun to do. What I meant to say, and maybe that I didn't put it in the right words because I'm Dutch, is that if you choose to make the details in AutoCAD (because of a deadline) you should also publish(plot) them in AutoCAD. Off course you can link them to your Revit file, but then you run into problems like Rayhorn13 here.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

autocad linked files and refresh

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 7, 2009 at 7:12:36 PM

7

Revit Export to AutoCAD DXF/DWG problems with linked files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 27, 2008 at 2:42:43 PM

5

Managing linked autocad files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 3, 2009 at 3:19:42 PM

0

Exporting Linked Revit Files coming in as Blocks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 2, 2011 at 3:16:38 PM

3

Linked Files Revit 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 31, 2011 at 8:27:11 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1652058

Objects:

22102

Forum Posts:

151694

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5600

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights