RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

86 Users Online (85 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Probably a dumb question but...........................

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:26:38 AM | Probably a dumb question but...........................

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


....................Is there a way to have detail components show up in both a building section and a callout or detail blowup without having to draw them twice?

Next probably dumb question:  What is the easiest way to adjust the line weights of detail components and wall outlines in sections?

Thanks in advance for tolerating, I hope, the dumb questions.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 23, 2007 at 10:28:06 AM | Probably a dumb question but...........................

#2

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


What version are you using?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 23, 2007 at 11:22:32 AM | Probably a dumb question but...........................

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I usually add my detail components to my detailed view (callout) then If I want them in the referring view, I just copy them to clipboard from the callout and paste same place in the referring view.  If I make changes later, I just blow away the detail elements/lines in the referring view and re-copy/paste them in.  Easy & quick to do.

 

Not all detail components are created equal.....

 

Obviously, you can over-ride the line values of detail elements in any view using VG but because of the above, this may not be what you want.  I prefer to edit the family of those details I often use so that I don't continue to have this problem.  CMU's are an example of detail elements that are just plain drawn wrong to begin with in the REVIT library.  All of it's lines are drawn Heavy and yet this unit is never used by itself.  I changed the family in my library to all thin lines and add heavy lines where required.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 23, 2007 at 11:31:51 AM | Probably a dumb question but...........................

#4

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


The reason I asked for the version you are working on goes along with what WWHub recomended.  He says to copy and paste them from view to view which I agree with completly.  The only thing I have to add is if you are working in 2008 you should make all the detail componants as a group and just copy the group around, that way if you make a change to one it automaticly reflects all the way through.  Only do this grouping with 2008, not 9.1 or earlier.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

dumb question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 13, 2007 at 1:34:04 AM

1

(Dumb question) Can't see first floor when in second floor view [Revit 2015]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2015 at 2:23:26 PM

2

Probably a dumb question, but when I copy an existing wall....

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 22, 2014 at 12:22:05 PM

2

dumb waiter?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 10, 2007 at 4:30:13 PM

3

dumb waiter?

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Mon, Jul 9, 2007 at 3:37:08 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2018262

Objects:

22949

Forum Posts:

152183

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 12.7581

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights