RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

285 Users Online (144 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rendering Problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 24, 2005 at 3:16:36 PM | Rendering Problems

#1

Ramzy


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 2, 2004
4 Posts
No Rating


When rendering a windowed area of my project, the rendering only goes down to Level 1. It will not render the wall from Level 1 to ground level. I am sure it is just a matter of changing some settings but could you tell what the problem is? Post edited on 2005-01-24 09:16:45

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 24, 2005 at 11:41:24 PM | RE: Rendering Problems

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Are you using the region raytrace to render part of a view? Or are you using raytrace to render a whole view and parts are coming out grey? Or to steal someone elses words "Please explain" Regards.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 25, 2005 at 1:24:44 PM | RE: Rendering Problems

#3

Ramzy


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 2, 2004
4 Posts
No Rating


I am using a region raytrace. Please look at the attached image. You can see where the rendering stopped. Below that level there should be another 4' of wall before you get to the ground. Thank you.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 21, 2008 at 2:30:34 PM | Rendering Problems

#4

sidman


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 24, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


When I raditae the image my background and glass turns black. Also why I cannot see the lights reflection placed on street when I raytrace and also radiate the image. Please help

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 21, 2008 at 5:27:19 PM | Rendering Problems

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


For your view cutting off look under Settings/Environment/Ground plane and see if you don't have a ground plane set at this level.

 

DO NOT Radiate an exterior view! 

 

To see your reflected items - uncheck your culling box under environment.

 

For windows to become transparent in either direction, you need to set them using the daylights on the render  menu.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 23, 2008 at 9:49:24 AM | Rendering Problems

#6

sidman


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 24, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


Here are a couple of questions I do not yet have the answer to - hope someone can point me to a rendering tutorial or to provide answers to these questions:

I have managed to create a rendered image using Ratrace or Radiate, with basic lights and furnitures.1. Raytracing and Radiate - do they work together, or are these two different ways to generate a render? The Radiate looks much more realistic, but it looks incomplete.2. When I use Radiate over transparent surfaces (windows, glass tables) the glass is black when the radiation is done. What am I missing.I searched the forums, but could not find anything that helps.Thanks very much in advance.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 23, 2008 at 2:05:33 PM | Rendering Problems

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Radiate is NOT rendering. Radiate is used to look at second, thrid ...and more light bounces off of objects. When that happens, these objects actually become a light source with the light being their color. This is what will give you secondary shadows and color shifts on objects in interior renderings. This really brings these closer to real life but the cost is rendering time. When you radiate a scene, AccuRender makes a lot of complex caculations based on geometries - at this time, it really doesn't consider color. NOTE This is why you don't want to do an exterior scene. Radiate reflects the light to objects all around, including behind the camera. In an exterior scene, it gets bogged down with space that is infinite.

 

After you radiate a scene, you should save this information for future use. As long as you don't change the geometry in the scene (move objects), you can reuse this information in multiple renderings where you may be changing object materials.

 

If you want to see through glass in interior scenes, you must set daylights for the glass. Likewise for exterior scenes looking through glass.

After you radiate an interior scene (and save it), you still have to render it.

 

Hope this helps.



Edited on: Wed, Jan 23, 2008 at 8:06:57 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 at 6:46:47 PM | Rendering Problems

#8

fl43


active

Joined: Tue, May 9, 2006
6 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I have bene nusing Revit for over 3 years and I can't figure out how to use exterior lighting.

When I render an image my roof is "always" way lighter then it should be in real. I tried changing the setting on the original texture jpeg but nothing seems to work.

Can you please help me?

 Thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 at 6:51:01 PM | Rendering Problems

#9

fl43


active

Joined: Tue, May 9, 2006
6 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I have bene nusing Revit for over 3 years and I can't figure out how to use exterior lighting.

When I render an image my roof is "always" way lighter then it should be in real. I tried changing the setting on the original texture jpeg but nothing seems to work.

Can you please help me?

 Thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 at 6:52:14 PM | Rendering Problems

#10

fl43


active

Joined: Tue, May 9, 2006
6 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I have bene nusing Revit for over 3 years and I can't figure out how to use exterior lighting.

When I render an image my roof is "always" way lighter then it should be in real. I tried changing the setting on the original texture jpeg but nothing seems to work.

Can you please help me?

 Thanks


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 1, 2008 at 7:52:30 PM | Rendering Problems

#11

mthurnauer


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 17, 2007
83 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Regarding the question about how to make the roofing darker.

The rendering engine in Revit is a little lacking compared to some other applications.  I did a little experimenting and found a solution.

To edit the texture settings, right-click the texture and select edit (See attachment 1). If you are using a texture map based texture for the roofing, use a ‘blend’ texture instead of just a ‘base’ texture (See Attachment 2).  With the blend, you will see in the column on the left that there is an option to adjust the settings for the First material and Second Material. For the first material, use the image map of the roofing (See attachment 3).  For the second material, you don’t need an image map, simply set the color to black.  You can then adjust how dark the material renders by going back to the blend settings and adjusting the % mix of the two. See Attachment test Revit Rendering.



Attached Images

32443_1.jpg32443_2.jpg32443_3.jpg32443_4.jpg32443_test_revit_rendering.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 6:48:40 AM | Rendering Problems

#12

sidman


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 24, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


I have question. I want to view in my elevation which is at back as lighter and the area in front as dark. How is it done/

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:48:29 AM | Rendering Problems

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


sidman,

Check out this thread. http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=3716 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Problems with Best quality nighttime rendering.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 2:32:13 AM

5

Rendering problems

Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Sep 12, 2017 at 2:55:21 PM

3

help with rendering!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 11, 2016 at 3:47:17 AM

2

Can a 63mb Revit File Size cause problems during rendering?

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 2, 2015 at 12:29:45 PM

2

Rendering problems with existing phase

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 19, 2006 at 7:24:36 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1691007

Objects:

22216

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5914

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights