RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

162 Users Online (51 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Customisable keyboard shortcuts

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 21, 2005 at 1:50:24 AM | Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#1

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


The ability to hold down CTRL or SHIFT and a key of choice to invoke a command (similar to acad). AND THE ABILITY TO CUSTOMISE SHORTCUT KEYS !

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 21, 2005 at 1:56:04 AM | RE: Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


You can!! Not the Ctrl Shft bit, commands are simpler than this. Simply edit Keyboard Shorcuts.txt and edit and add all the shortcuts you need... Instructions are at the top of the file.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 21, 2005 at 3:09:40 AM | RE: Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#3

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


Thanks again spotty, you are eternally vigilant with your responses which is I'm sure appreciated by all. I am, however, a bit pedantic about customising. I have a programmable mouse (most are these days), with one button as CTRL & another as ENTER etc (use this method rather than having to stretch across the keyboard with one hand to hold down 'CTRL + key' to invoke a command). This allows for single key shortcuts as well as 'key + ENTER' shortcuts, which essentially doubles the number of functions per SINGLE key. Add in the SHIFT key and you get three. I use these combinations in acad and find it very efficient & easy to remember. I know I'm fussy, but Autodesk has spent more than 20 years developing acad to meet their customers requirements, and it seems that in some ways we have to go through the cycle of requesting & implementation all over again, to add some extra justification to upgrading??

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 21, 2005 at 3:35:39 AM | RE: Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Okay. Well to explain how i operate with my setup. Right hand on mouse (which it doesn't leave) and one hand on the keyboard, with finger usually sitting over the z key. Commands in revit are a simple 2 letter code, there is no need to hit enter to activate. Once a valid code is entered the tool activates. Just to give a couple of my favourites, ZZ zoom window ZX zoom extents FR filled Region PA paste aligned current view CO component DR Door WD window EX Export to dwg... Just to name a few. Those less familiar with codes printed an excel table of the command and shortcuts which they then stuck to the monitor...

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 21, 2005 at 3:50:19 AM | RE: Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#5

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Spotty, I guess I'll just have to assimilate with rest of the Borg. PS. With all the invaluable posts you make Spotty, does this mean that new Queensland number plates are indicative of it's population?? (Whatever happened to 'THE SUNSHINE STATE'??) Cheers.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 21, 2005 at 5:07:55 AM | RE: Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Just those imported queenslanders... LOL I moved from Vic 10 years ago...

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 11:54:01 AM | RE: Customisable keyboard shortcuts

#7

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


mr spot certainly is a wizz! we are new users, and i love the idea of shortcut keys like ZZ, but i only have one decent hand, the right, so i am getting used to right-click and select from the menu to zoom etc. it would be great if all those shortcuts could be placed in a graphical toolbar (like autocad), for someone like me. are there other users with accessibility issues? and do you have a solution?

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Some Keyboard shortcuts not working?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 5, 2009 at 7:52:55 PM

5

Keyboard shortcuts

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 3, 2008 at 4:14:44 PM

4

Keyboard Shortcuts Won't Open/Show

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 26, 2013 at 5:09:04 PM

9

Keyboard Shortcuts??????

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 2:19:18 PM

8

Looking for a few handy keyboard shortcuts

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 1:21:51 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1650294

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3548

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights