RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

175 Users Online (84 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps >> 4D simulation in Revit?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Jul 11, 2007 at 8:05:55 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#1

smurf76


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 20, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

I have heard that there is a way to produce the construction sequence in Revit as series of JPGs according to phases created in Revit. In the project that I am working now, there are 5 phases of renovation, and i would like to make anything close to 4D simulation for the client.

Where in Revit do I specify the duration of these phases?

How do I produce the sequence?

Has anyone tried doing this in Revit?

Thanks a lot!

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 16, 2007 at 1:56:33 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#2

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


smurf,

I have seen a demonstration of this.  Essentially, it was a slide show (powerPoint) of exported images during the various phases of the construction process.  I have also seen some software emerging that does this for you, but I can not recall the software names at the moment.  You shouldn't have any problems finding some that are available by googling "BIM Construction Sequence."  I recall that very few of the software options were even usable with Revit.

 

To answer some of the other questions:

-You don't specify Phase duration unless you want to name the phase "Week1", "Week2", etc.

-Export the images of every phase from the same view or which ever view sequence you prefer.  Make a powerpoint slide show with the images in the correct order.

-I have not tried doing this yet, but I have seen some impressive demonstrations and hope to do some of this in the future.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 16, 2007 at 3:42:10 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#3

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


smurf76,

try and see the following image, is this what you are planning to do? I have around 10 phases for this project and I have only pick up 3 images Cryingsame camera view but different phases) and insert as images for a cover pages in powerpoint

http://www.revitcity.com/gallery.php?action=view&gallery_id=4131

Follow's rkitect's advise will get you where you what...

'Quote: -Export the images of every phase from the same view or which ever view sequence you prefer.  Make a powerpoint slide show with the images in the correct order."

and if you are planning to have a phasing walkthru, it is going to take you even more time to prepare that.....read some of thread here in revitcity about phasing walkthru shall take you thru this but it is easily take you min 3 days or average 5 days to a week to finish up a projects like that...My tips...never go too details on this 4D presentation


-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 16, 2007 at 5:59:46 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#4

smurf76


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 20, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


Thank you both for replying. Innitialy, I was planning to use Innovaya's Visual Simulation (which my firm just got) to do the 4D, but it doesn't work well for what I'm trying to do. It would work well for a completely new construction, but the project that I am working on is mostly renovation and it is difficult to represent activities in an already existing project, and both in an animated and visually appealing manner (it has inherent limitations on object visibilty, activity types you are allowed to create, etc).

I was curious to know if there was a way to tie the Revit model with the schedule and produce something close to simulation. So basically, I would need to create those phases in Revit, re-assign objects to them (since there are only Existing and New Construction at the moment) and controling for the visibility of phases make images. Does that mean that in order to make it close to a time-based sequence I would need to break the phase into "weeks" and instead of 5 phases have 50 "weeks"? That sounds like a lot of work in Revit and if that is the case I would suggest my firm to get a different 4D software ;-)

Thanks a lot for your help!!!!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 18, 2007 at 12:50:16 AM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#5

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Smurf,

Innovaya looks promising, but is the communication in 2 ways, i.e. changes in revit model will updates primavera/ ms project and changes in primavera/ ms project will updates phases in revit model?


-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 18, 2007 at 6:43:17 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#6

smurf76


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 20, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


ale02,

Although Innovaya Visual Simulation is still not fully developed and refined, it has the ability to easily update both the schedule and the model. If the Revit model is organized in phases, Innovaya will automatically create the schedule according to those phases. If you have MP/Primavera schedule, once Revit objects are linked to the schedule in Innovaya, those links stay even after you make changes in Revit model and re-import it in Innovaya (likewise in MP). In Navis Works for example, there was a problem of doing updates of the Revit model because each time you export the model into NW, you have to do all the linking again. 

There are good and bad sides to both software. In Innovaya, creating and linking the schedule is very easy. What is difficult (actually it is impossible at the moment) is for example to create different activity types that are not tied to the basic ones (new construction, temporary, removing object at the beginning/end of the task). I would like to do a sequence of different trades later in the project and give them different color codes (red-carpenter, blue-masonry, etc..) I cannot do that in Innovaya, but I could in NW, but my firm doesn't have NW... And so on... I am trying to wrap my head around what's the best that I can do given what I have...


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 19, 2007 at 4:35:24 AM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#7

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Smurf,

Thanks for the inputs...

One more question, can we have all our project schedule in Primavera/ MP and Innovaya link to blank revit project to assign phasing for us? If we can't do that, it is just back to square one, doing all the phasing in Revit is just killing me....

Any tutorials/ or books that you can recommend on both software? If I got time, properly can study more into them


-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 20, 2007 at 5:21:36 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#8

smurf76


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 20, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


ale02,

If I understood your question correctly, I don't think you can have a schedule linked to a blank Revit file... As far as I know, you still need to do that manually, weather you decide to do it in Revit right from the start, or later in Innovaya, or MP/Primavera... I wish there was a fully automated process possible, but to my knowledge there isn't... That's where my problem initially began. When I realized that using Innovaya won't entirely work for what I needed to do, my other option was Revit, and my headache was to re-assign all objects to newly developed phases according to the schedule. I have no knoweldge of other ways to do it in Revit.

As for the books, I am currently using Revit 2008 - BIM for beginners since that's what I am at the moment :-) Other software tutorials you can find on their website (depending which one you're using). Bottom line - I am in search of information as much as you are.

Cheers, 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jul 21, 2007 at 7:43:40 AM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#9

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


that is so so bad news....Assigning phases in revit was so tedious, I have to use alot of isolate, hide catagories, objects, rotates...etc...not to mentioned, changes to the pre-assign phases....

I was thinking, if we can have the master schedule done in MP/ Primavera, then let it direct automated assigning phases in revit...that, I think would be just great!!

At least you are at revit 2008, so far, I have seen a book in revit 5.5 here in Penang/Malaysia...other, we have to advance booking for the latest version... properly study online is a better option..Puh


-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 30, 2007 at 9:04:31 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#10

JimMerritt


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


I wonder if a simple program in the Revit API would work to assign the phases?  We are just begining to research the Revit API and doing some visual basic programming for automation.  The API isn't as open yet as AutoCAD, but there is a lot that can be done with it now.

--Jim

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 7, 2008 at 7:47:13 AM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#11

3DBjorn


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 9, 2007
12 Posts
No Rating


Hi, I just want to mention NavisWorks.

We are sucessfully using NavisWorks to produce 4D from almost any CAD package, if you have NavisWorks Roamer and Timeliner installed on the same computer, Revit will be able to export in to NavisWorks. NavisWorks can then import the program from either Microsoft Project, Asta Power Project or Primavera. Or if the planning package being used can export in to an .mpx file. In the Timeliner you can set up any number of Task Types (Activities) and choose almost any colour and level of transperancy to represent that activity. Then you can export the 4D sequence in to a wide range of different video formats or series of images. If you do a lot of this type of work often in the office it might be worth buying a copy.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 at 6:13:56 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#12

calcoolram


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 30, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


3DBjorn

I am currently working on Navisworks 2009. I tried to link a model created in Revit with a schedule I imported from P3. I have the following questions

  • In the Timeliner Window, under the Rules tab there is a way to map the "Items" in the model with the "Tasks" in Timeliner. Ideally, it would be the easiet and most efficient way to link the schedule with the model. To make it more efficient, if you could import the "Items" from Navisworks to excel or some other format, you could create a schedule using the Items (This way there the spelling and format remain consistent). So is there a way to export the items from Navisworks. Or should this be done in Revit?

 

 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 6:45:13 AM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#13

3DBjorn


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 9, 2007
12 Posts
No Rating


Calcoolram,

 

NavisWorks can not export into an excel shedule, this is something I would like to see in future releases of NavisWorks. However there is a half automatic way to do this. If you work through the model in NAvisWorks and create Selection sets with the same item names as in your proegramme then you can utomatically map the tasks to the selection sets. This is how we prefer to do it beacuase as a contractor we dont author models and thereby cant alignt the item names in Revit with those in a programme. 

I hope this helps. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 5:35:42 PM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#14

calcoolram


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 30, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Bjorn. So you guys create a set of selection sets based on the tasks in your Schedule. Then you run the rules to map the Tasks to the Selection set? Thats great.

 Now have you guys used a 2d model from CAD to import into Revit and then to Navisworks to do some 4D simulation?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 2, 2008 at 7:05:08 AM | 4D simulation in Revit?

#15

3DBjorn


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 9, 2007
12 Posts
No Rating


We tend to avoid converting 3D and 2D models too many times. If there are 2D or 3D models from AutoCad, Microstation, ADT, Sketshup etc we try to bring them straight in to Navis rather than via Revit. Rule of thumb is that if possible, produce a NavisWorks NWC export out from the native cad package, this has minimal loss of data. However with 2D models there are some problems with hatched areas not coming through to Navis. Then we have extruded the hatched areas to thin solid objects in CAD, then they can be coloured and used for 4D simulations in Navis.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Detailed Numbers for Green Building Studio Energy Simulation Report?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 16, 2013 at 11:40:01 AM

1

Visuel simulation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 11, 2008 at 1:39:06 PM

2

4d simulation and component schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 17, 2011 at 5:32:03 PM

4

Adding room, spaces to half sphere...Revit 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 18, 2016 at 4:08:36 AM

12

clubrevit

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 2:17:02 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1417881

Objects:

20398

Forum Posts:

150461

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 23.3842

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights