RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

86 Users Online (85 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> splitting topography

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 6:31:29 PM | splitting topography

#1

paulacarl


active

Joined: Sun, Aug 22, 2004
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi all, I am having problems with a site plan I'm working on. I have a house on a fairly steep slope. When I try to cut out the topography that is passing through the footprint of the structure, it seems that I never can quite cut all of it away. I use the split topography command, and follow the footprint of the building, but something always seems to go awry. Does anybody have any insights? Thank you all in advance!

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 6:41:15 PM | RE: splitting topography

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Sounds a little strange... Is there only 1 topographical element to begin with? I'm just going on assumptions here but i imagine you have one large topography with a building in the centre (or there abouts) and then your using the split surface tool and sketching around the building, finishing the sketch, then selecting the centre topography under the building and deleting it? Personally i'd probably use the building pad under the building so the topography is automatically cut to the pad... If i'm off track let me know.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 7:21:18 PM | RE: splitting topography

#3

paulacarl


active

Joined: Sun, Aug 22, 2004
2 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the quick reply! Yes, that is basically the process that I am following, but I'm wondering if maybe the elevations of the edges that I am creating need to correspond exactly with the elevations of the topography at the cut edge. Anyway, very strange things are happening, plus if I then move the building just slightly on the site, I don't know how to patch the cuts . . . I need some adult supervision!

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 8:36:37 PM | RE: splitting topography

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Definetly try using a pad... Especially if there is chances the building will move on site. Moving topography after it's been cut is very inaccurate...

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Sidewalk to Match Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 4:29:14 PM

3

TOPOGRAPHY SPLIT PROBLEM

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 22, 2008 at 2:51:42 PM

4

Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 19, 2016 at 6:19:21 AM

2

Topography over multiple phases.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 22, 2014 at 5:10:33 AM

2

Topography dissapearing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 7, 2012 at 2:46:15 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2010068

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152197

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2302

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights