RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

276 Users Online (105 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Labels in Annotation Families

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jun 25, 2007 at 9:57:22 PM | Labels in Annotation Families

#1

strandcad


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 7, 2006
11 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I doubt this is possible, but I have to ask the question.  I am working with Revit 9.1 and creating a new level head, which I would use to kind of solve the multiple level with same name issue.  My idea would be to create a label that would have be an instance rather than a type for the level name text, so that once I place that level, I would be able to input my own text for the level name.  As I am finding out, it is not letting me create a new label within this family.  Is there a way around it?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  If any further clarification is needed, do not hessitate to let me know.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:36:26 PM | Labels in Annotation Families

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


The only thing i can think of trying is nesting a generic annotation family with a shared parameter already inserted into the level head family and seeing if it will allow you to link the parameters.  But its highly probably that this won't work.

 

Give it a try and let us know how you go.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 26, 2007 at 3:59:24 PM | Labels in Annotation Families

#3

strandcad


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 7, 2006
11 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


The question then becomes, how do you get a shared parameter into the level head family?  The only parameters in there are for the Name and Elevation.  You can get into the Family Types and add parameters, but that doesn't seem to be doing anything.  At this time I will give up.  I will just create individual Level Head Families for my most common Repeated Levels and then apply them as needed.  If anyone comes up with another suggestion, just let me know and I will give it a try.  Thank you for your response Mr. Spot.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 27, 2007 at 4:44:48 AM | Labels in Annotation Families

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I wrote that so it sounding the wrong way...

 

try nesting a generic annotation family with a shared parameter already inserted ---- into the level head family and see if the parameter will persist into the new family.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 27, 2007 at 3:03:41 PM | Labels in Annotation Families

#5

strandcad


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 7, 2006
11 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


It may not seem like I read it right, but I did try it out the way you suggested.  I am still not able to get it to function the way I want it to, but I made a compromise, because I got it to work one way.  I loaded a Generic Annotation into the level head family.  The Generic Annotation comprised of multiple family types with different text, ie: T.O. Masonry, T.O. Steel and so on.  Then I am able to create a level head family, that I term as a multi level head, in which the generic annotation is added.  I can then place that generic annotation as a symbol, which then allows me to add a parameter to it.  Then I am able to go into the family types, again create the multiple names I most commonly would use, TO Steel, TO Masonry and so on.  Which allows me to just load in one level head, but with all the text options I would like to use.  Then, I go into the project and edit the existing level heads to read what I want it to by duplicating the marker and giving it a new name and symbol.  It seems like a run around, but it does what I need it to do and works fairly well.  Again Thank you for your help.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 25, 2008 at 7:07:55 AM | Labels in Annotation Families

#6

sidman


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 24, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


Hi,I made the new door tag family assigning  Assemply code Parameter as a Label. But when I Load into the project the question mark appears. Can anyone help me. Thanks in advance.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Families and Annotation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 30, 2011 at 2:55:41 PM

1

Rotating Annotation Labels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 1, 2004 at 12:46:55 AM

3

Generic Annotations - Hiding Labels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 16, 2007 at 9:17:31 PM

3

Level Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 4, 2008 at 2:07:58 PM

0

Annotation symbols and schedules.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 8:48:34 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1691013

Objects:

22216

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3675

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights