RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

179 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Revit MEP computer hog

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 5:27:37 PM | Revit MEP computer hog

#1

gdelfs


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 3, 2007
22 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Could anyone offer some "based on experience" advice for a computer setup that adequately runs Revit MEP. After my nagging about the time required to perform most functions, the IT staff has upgraded the memory and the processor in my computer. Even with these upgrades, Revit still runs slow. If anyone has found a setup that works well, I would appreciate your input. Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 7:24:51 PM | Revit MEP computer hog

#2

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


What ram and cpu are you running now?  Go a bit more in depth as to what you mean by it runs slow.  Compared to Autocad or what?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 8:07:27 PM | Revit MEP computer hog

#3

gdelfs


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 3, 2007
22 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual

Core Processor 6000+

 3.02 GHz, 3.25 GB of Ram

 AutoCad runs really good. There has been a noticable improvement with AutoCad, since the upgrade. Revit MEP has not improved much. Placing any piping or connecting piping run slow. Changing the visibility to Coarse and Wireframe made a noticeable improvement to zooming commands. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:24:53 PM | Revit MEP computer hog

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


What size file are you working on?

Revit does not take advantage of multi-processors so its only using one of those processors.  This is fine as the other processor can take care of running the OS.

3.25GB of RAM is an odd amount.  What speed is the RAM?  Is it all the same speed?

I currently run 2GB of DDR2 PC4000 RAM (2 sticks of 1GB) but i really should upgrade to 4G.  Have you enabled the virtual memory switch to enable your pc to use up to 3G of VM?

 What is your video card and is Open GL enabled on it?  This can make a huge difference in 3D views.  I'd recommend a minimum of 512MB RAM on your video card and preferably a fairly recent model (past 2  years) that supports open gl 1.3.

Realistically your machine should be fine to work on files up to 100MB.  But you can have a 100MB file that runs sweet and a 100MB that runs terrible depending on how the file is setup.  That is, lots of loaded families that aren't being used, lots of in-place families, lots of arrays, as well as excess views can all have a detrimental effect on performance.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:40:00 PM | Revit MEP computer hog

#5

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


I agree with Mr. Spot, running 3.25 Gig of ram is going to create issues in its own right.  No matter what you should be running an odd amout like that, 3.25 or even 3 over 3 or 4 Dimms is not efficient.  If you have 3.25 get 4 1 Gig sticks and run them accross 4 Dimms.  Though XP doesnt support 4 Gigs you can still utilize around 3.5 of that more efficiently.  And like he said 100 Megs you should be doing fine.  We all know that revit is going to run slower than Cad and if you think about it, it makes sense.  It has to regenerate all the views and reflect a change through everything, Cad you made a change in Elevation and thats all it was, Revit changes it everywhere.  I can say much about what video card you have, but I would feel comftrable going with what Mr. Spot says.  Also with the 4 gigs, you need to reconfigure your OS.  Your CPU should be fine, Dual Core is nice because of all the XP crap that has to run as well.  Other that your ram issue your computer should be fine to run Revit with out too much of a slow run.  All in all I basicly second what Mr. Spot had to say on the subject.

Grant Doherty


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:36:31 AM | Revit MEP computer hog

#6

gdelfs


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 3, 2007
22 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thank you guys for the advice. I will discuss it with our IT staff. I will also try to clean up the files. Right now the projects have been ranging between 30 and 70 GB. I will try to clean them up. It makes sense that it would not move as quickly as AutoCad. But, it can be frustrating when it takes 10 minutes to undo a mistake (new user = lots of mistakes). Thank you again for the info.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 at 10:29:24 AM | Revit MEP computer hog

#7

chiragpklg


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 25, 2008
90 Posts
4 Stars: 11 Votes


* System Requirements

--> Intel Pentium 4, 1.4 GHz or equivalent AMD Athlon processor.

--> Microsoft Windows, Vista Enterprises, Business, Premium, or Ultimate.

--> Windows XP Professional, Home Edition or tablet PC Edition (SPI or later) or Windowa 2000 SP4

--> 1 GB Ram

--> 3 GB Free disk space

* System Recommendations

--> Intel Core2 Duo 2.40 GHz, or equivalent AMD Athlon processor.

--> Windows XP Professional (SP2 or later)

--> 4GB Ram

--> 5GB Free disk space

--> Dedicated video card with hardware support for OpenGL Spec 1.3 or later

  Regards,

  Chirag C. Pawar


-----------------------------------

Chirag C. Pawar

Cad Solution Application Senior Engineer

KLGSystel Ltd. India

301, Pujit Plaza, Plot No. 67,Sector 11, CBD Belapur,Navi Mumbai - 400614, Maharashtra, India.Tel    .:    +91 22 409 16777. Extn. - 718Fax   .:    +91 22 275 76461.Mob  .:   +91 99 698 66851.Email.:    chiragp@klgsystel.com

Web  .:    www.klgsystel.com

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 at 1:02:23 PM | Revit MEP computer hog

#8

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


You might also try checking your warnings.  Those little annoying things that pop up on the bottom right corner of the screen as you're working.  You can ignore them and keep working, but if you let lots of warnings build up the file size can get huge.  Go to Tools-Review Warnings, and start going through and resolving them.  It's a little embarrassing to admit, but I had a huge (60MB) file just last month that I and another coworker had been sharing.  I cleaned up the warnings (took the better part of 4 hours, mind you) and after I saved, file size had shrunk to 22MB.....  Just another thought.

 

Good luck. 


-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 1:21:49 PM

6

Revit MEP

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 29, 2009 at 3:10:40 AM

7

How to add objects on tables , i.e Computer screen on computer desk.

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Oct 18, 2016 at 6:22:58 PM

3

To: Revit MEP users

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Nov 24, 2010 at 1:43:49 PM

1

From 2D CAD MEP files to Revit MEP

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 5:12:10 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1454831

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.7015

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights