RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

214 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Revit and IES Virtual Environment

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 14, 2007 at 9:56:40 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#1

chudy


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 12, 2007
15 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I was wondering if someone has any experience in using the Virtual Environment for light simulations etc. Our company is really intrested in using this software but we would like to hear opinion from someone that uses it in his work. 

Dawid 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 17, 2008 at 8:55:44 PM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#2

MarauderX


active
MarauderX Avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


As a stand-alone product IES-VE has all sorts of add-on packages that can get as detailed as you need to be.  This may be what you need, and perhaps you can import your Revit model into IES to what you need. 

IES can generate some fantastic renderings fast, and the software has glare calculations that will alert you when window glazing shading and coefficients are unsatisfactory. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 at 4:41:25 PM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#3

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


I have been using VE for a while in conjunction with Revit. Solid program, easy to use, better that e-quest. as far as lighting goes that is where i started. very useful since revit only give you a zonal cavity calculation. i attached a generic room i did with some cooper lights it took me about 5 min to set up and another 5 to run the calc on medium. as far as the life cycle cost analysis, thats where the fun begins Smile

Attached Images

36052_Cooper_-_Metalux_-_3T8.jpg

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 at 4:42:23 PM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#4

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


It might have helped if i grabbed the right image.

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 at 6:26:07 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#5

spritelxx


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 28, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


    is Eddieboarder91 in?

i just want to get more details about IESVE coorperated with revit MEP in artifical lighting analyse.

1. can  i only import gbxml files from revit into IESEV? are ther any other ways?

2.when i import a revit model into IESVE,can the lighting fixtures be imported into IES and have their properties?  if not what should i do?

i am looking forward to your reply.

thank you very much!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 at 7:37:42 PM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#6

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


spritelxx,

If you have a seat of Revit MEP, there is a direct link (Click on the Mechanical Tab -> Heating and Cooling Loads), I know IES has been working on Revit Architecture for a solution, currently they have a API plug in. But I am unsure if there is a direct link.

Were really going to open a whole new can of beans with this one. To import a Lighting Fixture into IES <VE> you have to import the *.ies file. From this, if the Lumcat parameter is populated it will bring it in. Unfortunately you are unable to import Revit families into IES <VE>. Yet anyway.

To seperate these IES <VE> = Intergrated Environmental Solutions <Virtual Environment>

*.ies = Illuminating Engineering Society <- Photometric data, may look like gibberish, but there are patterns and a method to this madness, I do not suggesting looking very hard, it comes with time.

If all you are looking to do is interior artificial lighting, check our a program called Dialux, it is a european program but very very simplistic and easy to use.

HTH


-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 29, 2008 at 3:01:51 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#7

spritelxx


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 28, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Eddieboarder91,

thank you very much!

i do not know what you mean by"To import a Lighting Fixture into IES <VE> you have to import the *.ies file." can revit create a *.ies file,or anyway through revit?

I have been using dialux for just a little while,not very good at it.it can not import revit model.if i recreate a model,the work must be hard.i am a student now,studying a method of lighting design based on BIM,the most important thing is to achieve the information exchange without rework. in my opinion,the revit mep is a good tool for mep design.so i try my best to get another tool to go along with it.i really appriciate you for more details.

best wishes


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 2:11:17 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#8

twometer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
15 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Revit Architecture 2009 and Revit MEP 2009 now support IES data.  You can import them in for renderings and have read that the information gets exported as well.  The IES data is in the lighting fixture family.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 2:29:40 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#9

spritelxx


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 28, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


thank you, twometer.

do you mean that i can create a building model with lighting fixtures in revit mep 2009 ,and then export it into IESVE directly.meanwhile the lighting fixtures are active and have its properties for analyzing.

if so,that would be a great news for me.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 3:00:11 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#10

twometer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
15 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Have not tried it personally, but this is what the help file in Revit MEP says...

"Revit MEP incorporates photometric data for lighting fixtures using an industry-standard format in Illuminating Engineering Society (.ies) files. The data describes the intensity and distribution of light that is used for lighting analysis. This manufacturer’s data is now included with the information exported to IES<VE> when you export the building model."

 Might work from Revit Architecture as well.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 3:24:13 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#11

spritelxx


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 28, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


i really appreciate you for your help.i am downloading the revit mep 2009.

best wishes!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 5:32:03 PM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#12

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


In responce to dialux, it is a very very very simple program, yes you have to recreate the model, you do in ecotect too. you are right about the theory of bim, that it SHOULD be interoperable with other programs, what is happening though and you now know this is everything is not BIM.  

Revit MEP is a good design solution, but it is only a tool, you still have to understand what you are doing. what school are you learning this at?

you could associate the ies files in 2008 too, what has happened, and i am glad it has is that autodesk got smart is starting to get away from externally referenced data (ie. IES files, Look up tables). When you are working with 2009 you will see a major difference in the Lighting fixture family, you have the ability to add much much more information in an easier way, of course you need to know this information which for most lighting manufactures they do not provide.

FYI: the link between 2009 and ies, works, there is still some manipulation, still dont know if works in arch 2009, it is not as easy and transfer and go. I beta tested mep 2009, the thing is, it will only work with IES <VE> v5.8.5.2 (I think, I am not at my machine right now).


-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 2, 2008 at 5:16:37 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#13

spritelxx


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 28, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


 Eddieboarder91,

thank you.i am a Chinese student.i have gotten revit mep 2009 and have a try.i lost my password a few days ago. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 17, 2008 at 9:50:03 PM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#14

fpopa


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 10, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone know how to control the render environment?  Can it be manipulated and customized?  The factoryl environment doesn't cut it, especially for exterior renderings.  If anyone has any know how, please share....

 

Thank you,


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 14, 2009 at 12:25:01 AM | Revit and IES Virtual Environment

#15

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


id use max as would most other people on this site...it runs much faster and gives a better product...if you dont have it available try checking out augi for suggestions i know they are out there just a bit to tired to go find them again...

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

IES files in Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 6, 2017 at 10:00:14 PM

4

SketchUp and IES

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 29, 2008 at 6:18:34 PM

1

Virtual Environment VS. Ecotect

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 25, 2009 at 3:18:54 PM

1

lighting analyse with IES

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 at 6:56:56 AM

0

IES Photometric lighting issue - no light

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 13, 2009 at 8:30:28 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1551077

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.4709

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights