RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

165 Users Online (51 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> need help with slab lines in elevations

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 5, 2007 at 8:28:10 AM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#1

angelosk


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 5, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi all. I have just started using Revit (migrated from ADT) and I have a problem regarding elevations, i hope you can help me with this. I have created two floor plans walls and everything and started to add slabs to each floor. When I turn to look at elevations I can see the lines (as the picture shows) of the slabs and the walls. Can someone tell me how i can change their properties so in sections you can see they consist of different material but in elevations they look as the same. I mean they are going to have at their exterior face finishes and same colour so they shouldnt be there. 

Sorry for my english I tried to be as clear as possible. Hope you can help me with this. 



Attached Images

24077_elevation.JPG

-----------------------------------
www.kaliakatsos.gr

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 5, 2007 at 1:33:25 PM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


You can use the "Paint" tool to change the material of the faces of the floor. You can then use the "Linework" tool to make the slab lines invisible. The Linework tool is view specific.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 5, 2007 at 2:23:51 PM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


Edit your slab....  I don't know what your wall is but I would expect that something goes past the face of your slab.  The reason your slab shows is that you have it's limits at the face of your wall and it probably  should be behind the skin ... unless you have a wall and slab of the same material ... like concrete.  In that case, use join geometry to blend the two materials and get rid of the floor lines.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 5, 2007 at 4:07:33 PM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#4

angelosk


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 5, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


thanks for your replies I'll try both to see what works best. hope i can make it

-----------------------------------
www.kaliakatsos.gr

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 6, 2007 at 7:20:16 AM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#5

angelosk


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 5, 2007
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Ok this is what I did and it works fine. I post it for reference for other users. 

1. Offset the base of top storey walls equal to the slab height (e.g if slab is 0.26 then offset -0.26)

2. Use Joint geometry on the  top and bottom storey walls. (lines dissapear but if you section you can see that the joint with the slab is not good)

3. Use attach to base for top storey wall to attach it to slab.

This is what I get which is very pleasing. 

 



Attached Images

24124_2.JPG

-----------------------------------
www.kaliakatsos.gr

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 6, 2007 at 11:40:25 AM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


It sounds like you may do things backward from what most of us do.  Our floors are at the floor line, not the bottom of the floor.  Therefore, our walls start at the floor (no reason to offset).  The walls below go to the floor above.  When you create your floor (or edit it), you are given an opportunity to attach the walls below to the bottom of the floor and to cut the geometry out of any intersecting walls.

 

Because exterior walls may partially pass the bottom of the floor and go to the next floor line they are automatically partially cut out for the floor.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 7, 2007 at 9:07:14 PM | need help with slab lines in elevations

#7

Atomsk


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
39 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


where is this "linework tool"?

EDIT: I found it



Edited on: Fri, Sep 7, 2007 at 4:20:15 PM

-----------------------------------
Revit 2010

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Model lines not showing up on slab surface

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 1, 2016 at 1:30:20 PM

1

Sloping Floor Slab

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 30, 2010 at 8:04:50 PM

0

drawing lines over a tike floor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 10:21:15 PM

6

How do I get rid of these indicator lines around my slab?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 28, 2010 at 8:10:35 AM

3

Why are Spot Elevations so unreliable?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 11, 2007 at 1:50:44 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1843161

Objects:

22620

Forum Posts:

152045

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.0758

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights