RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

206 Users Online (54 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> circular openings in concrete walls

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 5:47:43 PM | circular openings in concrete walls

#1

tomm


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 18, 2003
4 Posts
No Rating


Newbie question. I often need to make circular openings in concrete walls. In creating a family which includes one of these openings I sketch the circle using the circle tool. When I try to finish the sketch I am told that the circle is not closed, and find there is a small opening in it. If I try to sketch a line to close the circle I get an error message that the line is to short. If I try to drag the ends of the circle together I get an error message that the element is too small. Is there a way to sketch a closed circle? Thanks in advance

-----------------------------------

Tom McLaughlin

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 5:49:59 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#2

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


It seems like you are trying to sketch the circle with the arc tool. Try sketching your circle with the circle tool, which is always a closed circle. hope that helps!

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 6:28:34 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#3

tomm


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 18, 2003
4 Posts
No Rating


I have tried with both with the same results. Should I have anything special in units, or snap settings?

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 6:35:28 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#4

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


so when you use the circle tool it has a gap in it as well?

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 6:36:34 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#5

tomm


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 18, 2003
4 Posts
No Rating


Quoting hjacobs - 2003-12-18 12:35:28

"so when you use the circle tool it has a gap in it as well?"



Thats correct.

Post edited on 2005-06-13 03:47:15

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 6:40:18 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#6

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


very interesting... perhaps you could email me the file so I can take a look at it... hiroshij@oculusinc.com

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 18, 2003 at 6:45:22 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#7

tomm


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 18, 2003
4 Posts
No Rating


Quoting hjacobs - 2003-12-18 12:35:28

"so when you use the circle tool it has a gap in it as well?"


Thats correct.

Post edited on 2005-06-13 03:47:58

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 5, 2004 at 3:12:34 PM | RE: circular openings in concrete walls

#8

hotrod67


Joined: Wed, Aug 4, 2004
4 Posts
No Rating


Take a circular window family,copy it and rename it to Circular Wall Openings. Remove the glass and trim parameters and then hit ok. You then can do a edit/new,duplicate, rename and make the diameter any size you want. Post edited on 2004-08-05 10:21:17

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 11, 2008 at 7:05:05 AM | circular openings in concrete walls

#9

dianajohn


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 24, 2006
63 Posts
No Rating


I have found with older versions, that if the circle you are drawing is small then this error happens. Try drawing the circle larger than need. Revit Should create the hole. Once the hole is created, edit it to the size you need.

Best of luck

John A


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Steel or concrete circular beams

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 8:56:24 PM

0

Dimensioning a concrete panel w/ openings in elevation view

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 25, 2008 at 8:07:22 PM

2

Making in place walls look like walls in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 10, 2005 at 2:11:59 AM

3

Openings in (Structural) Walls Scheduling as Non-Bearing Walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 21, 2008 at 11:55:28 PM

0

Copy/Monitor Openings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 9, 2016 at 8:41:46 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1706570

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7889

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights