RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

220 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 7:54:05 AM | WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

#1

TOONS


active

Joined: Tue, May 17, 2005
16 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hello guys,

I am working in a building of 20.000 sqm with 12000 windows. when I am inserting them in the facade, the program ( Revit Building 8.1) goes so slow!!! and sometimes my computer says to me that I am running out of memory. But I have a 1Gb RAM!!!

It is normal that Revit, for some operations, goes so slow? maybe I am doing something wrong?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 3:49:56 PM | WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

#2

sjs


active
sjs Avatar

Joined: Thu, Mar 11, 2004
41 Posts
3.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Yes, revit consumes a lot of PC resources.

I have 2G Ram and i'm thinking buy another 2G.

The processor and grafic card is also important.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 4:18:21 PM | WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

#3

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Below are the Autodesk recommended specs to effectively run Revit.

 

System Recommendations:
  • Intel Core® 2 Duo 2.40 GHz, or equivalent AMD Athlon processor
  • Windows XP Professional (SP2 or later)
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 5 GB free disk space
  • Dedicated video card with hardware support for OpenGL® spec 1.3 or later
  • Two-button mouse with scroll wheel

The preceding requirements are recommended for effective use of Revit Architecture software.

 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 9:45:18 PM | WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

#4

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 13 Votes


Revit can get horribly slow and I've been trying to pin down exactly what does this.

 

I have theories, but one thing you might want to think about is your windows. When you have that many windows, Revit will be generating views with the detailed geometry, and maybe trying to generate all of them. 

 

What I would consider proposing would be to make 2 families of the windows with the same exact name in 2 separate folders. One that has all your detailed geometry in the windows and one with a simple opening and maybe detail lines to show graphically that it's a window. Then when you get ready to print, load the detailed window into your family and overwrite the simple version.

 

This would free Revit up from at least generating views for the windows and you might be able to work a little easier/faster on your project. Large firms, this might not be so welcome of an idea.

 

Check over your loaded families to see if there are any that are large sizes. This may indicate a jpeg was left in the family maybe, or it's a little too detailed. 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 10:41:32 PM | WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


In addition to the hardware specs, it is how you model and structure things in Revit that are important.  On large projects worksets are a must.  You can selectively open worksets so you do not have to deal with the whole model at once.  In 2008, you have stronger file linking options which need to be explored.  How you create your families is important too.  You should be making them as simple as possible and add detail to medium and fine views via 2D linework in the family that displays when cut in section.

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 4, 2007 at 7:43:19 AM | WHY THE A.REVIT BUILDING GOES SOOO SLOW?

#6

TOONS


active

Joined: Tue, May 17, 2005
16 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


WHOOO!! THANKS ALL OF YOU!! I will do everything to see what happen!

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2013 slow performance in citrix

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 5, 2014 at 5:03:13 PM

3

Images slow Revit down

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 1:43:07 PM

3

revit running slow

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 15, 2010 at 8:40:52 AM

1

historic construction slow-down [ 1 2 3 4 ]

Community >> The Studio

Sat, Oct 29, 2011 at 9:37:51 AM

45

Revit running slow on my computer

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 26, 2010 at 12:42:55 AM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1781781

Objects:

22482

Forum Posts:

151948

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 10.2955

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights