RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

161 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Window head & Jamb

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Dec 23, 2004 at 1:09:07 PM | Window head & Jamb

#1

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Does anybody know how to create a window jamb and window head? Over here most windows and doors are placed behind a jamb and head in a cavity wall. In Archicad you can easily enter the jamb and head parameters, and in learning Revit, i haven't found it yet how to do it... Can anybody help me please?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 24, 2004 at 2:01:51 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Check out some of the families here and in the revit modern library, i'm sure you'll find quite a few with built in adjustable head's and jambs.

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Dec 25, 2004 at 4:43:39 PM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#3

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


First of all... MERRY CHRISTMAS to ALL Revit users... Mr Spot, thanks for your reply, but I'm still searching for windows with adjustable head & jamb parameters... Post edited on 2004-12-25 10:52:02

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 16, 2005 at 11:44:50 PM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


If you'd like send me a sketch of what exactly you want to make parametric and i'll put together a quick tutorial with a sample file... Also, remember there are some good tutorials within revit itself on family creation.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 17, 2005 at 6:26:03 PM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#5

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Hello Mr Spot, Happy New Year to you and thanks for being helpful... In Belgium, Revit has just been introduced and the main importer does not know how to solve the problem himself. Over here we have compound walls: - 9 cm Face Brick wall - 2 cm air layer - 4 cm thermal insulation - 14 cm interior (supporting) wall - 1 cm plaster as an interior finish The plaster layer is not that important, mostly we use a 15 cm interior wall to get to 30 cm of total wall thickness. If 14 cm wall and 1 cm plaster is used, we have to turn the plaster in the opening towards the window frame (see sketch). You can see on the sketch i have included that we use a head and a jamb of 5 cms. Also there is a sill of 5 cm thick, 14 cm wide and with the lenght of the window itself. So the interior opening is 10 cms wider than the exterior opening. I've been trying a bit of family creation, but i can't seem to manage the head and jamb problem. I am very used to using ArchiCad and in that program you have seperate dialog boxes for that. I included a jpg file with a sketch of the windows in both plan view and section. Thanks in advance for your help.

Attached Images

windows.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 17, 2005 at 11:23:38 PM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Okay, so what you'd really like to do is change the straight box cut of the opening (for the window) to something more complex that allows for individual layers of the wall to extend further in plan and elevation (namely the face brick and the recess for the sill)? The first step would be to go and edit your typical window family, begin by opening the window family and saving with a different name. (it actually might be easier to start a new window family from scratch) You'll need to delete the opening cut in the wall (best done in a 3d view by tab selecting on the edge of the opening). The reason for this is we are going to use voids to cut the opening in the wall as opposed to using the opening, this is because openings and voids cannot cut a wall at the same time in a family, its one or the other. I'd then change the wall type by selecting the wall and editing the wall properties to match that of your typical layered wall... This will make it easier to see the full effects of your changes straight away. To make a void cut a wall, create it via extrusion then use the cut geometry tool, then first select the void then select what you want it to cut, that is the wall... I'll have to cut it short there as i need to do some work, if i get time i'll do a sample family for you, but at first look its very possible... Regards.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 18, 2005 at 12:35:22 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#7

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Thanks so far Mr Spot, i'll try this for now... I hope I can figure it out how to do this.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 18, 2005 at 1:52:04 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#8

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


I think i've figured out the opening, now i'm trying the window frame itself. Check out the opening in the attached family.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 18, 2005 at 2:26:36 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#9

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Now i'm trying to use the attached window profile to create my window frame...

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 18, 2005 at 2:50:37 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#10

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Cool, Looks like you're getting somewhere.. With the opening I noticed its locked to 1000mm, you may want to make this adjustable and also the void thickness' to allow for different thickness walls (if this is required). You probably already planned on doing this and this is just a test, but just thought i'd mention it. As for the frame, do not model to this detail, essentially there are only two boxes here, model them as boxes otherwise you'll end up with a very slow window family... What you can do is create a detail component of the frame and embed it in the family and set it to only display at fine detail and when the window is cut. Then you simply tell the model geometry not to display at fine detail and you'll end up with fully detailed windows with every section...

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 18, 2005 at 11:07:05 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#11

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Okay, I'll try this tonight (for now i've got some work to do). Thanks for the replies and tips.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 12:52:55 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#12

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


I can't seem to unlock the dimensions (the "1000" width) i've got.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 1:17:11 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#13

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Delete it. You should rarely dimension to elements as this can cause problems with parametrics. Try to always dimension to reference planes then lock the elements to the reference planes.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 1:54:01 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#14

StevenA


Joined: Thu, Dec 23, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


My God i'm useless... I've deleted all dimensions, but still can't adjust any sizes when using the opening in a wall... I have managed to draw the reference planes... I think i'm too tired.... This must be the reason.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2005 at 7:41:09 AM | RE: Window head & Jamb

#15

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


I had a couple of free minutes so i setup the framework for you... Should have all the parameters adjustable you need... All you have to do now is add the window frame and glcursein.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Window Schedule - Jamb, Head, Sill

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 7, 2013 at 9:06:57 PM

14

Window Schedule - Head/Jamb/Sill References

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 8:30:02 PM

2

window jamb wrapping

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 13, 2011 at 9:26:52 PM

1

Setting Window Head Height

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 24, 2017 at 6:16:49 AM

14

head, jamb, sill reference in schedules

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Nov 1, 2005 at 8:47:54 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1779883

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151940

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3095

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights