RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

38 Users Online (37 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Project Information - Order of Parameters

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 4, 2007 at 8:32:41 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#1

dmunn


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 5, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone know how to set the parameters inside "Project Information" to appear in a set order?

We want to enter our colours here but they need to be in a set order ie. Floor, walls, roof, windows, doors etc. There will be 20 items in total.

I've tried several different ways but can't seem to work out of how it populates the list.

I've tried adding numbers to each parameter, Making them at different times etc. but nothing seems to work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Dan


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 2:28:00 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#2

jlbrennaman


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


Does anybody have an answer for this?

 

Thanks,

 

Jason


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 22, 2008 at 2:37:10 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#3

callie


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 29, 2007
35 Posts
No Rating


Any answers?  The random order of the parameters is driving me crazy.  I know it doesn't affect the work, but I would really like to organize it.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 22, 2008 at 4:13:38 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I'm not sure what you are trying to do .... but maybe you can do this elsewhere. 

For most of us, the project information shows up in our titleblocks and we control what we show there.  Where do you want to display this information?  Why can't these be in normal finish schedules?

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 22, 2008 at 4:15:39 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


BTW ... you could have a sheet that controls this information if you have to keep it in the "project information" area .... but I don't see why?  Project information is typically not model information.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 22, 2008 at 9:27:26 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#6

callie


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 29, 2007
35 Posts
No Rating


Sorry for the confusion.  I'm not talking about anything that actually shows up in drawings.  I have added a lot of parameters in the project information, and when you go to settings-->project information, they just aren't in a logical order.  For instance I have parameters of SED1-SED6, and in the project information there is SED1 followed by occupancy, and then something else, and then SED2...It probably sounds silly that I worry about things that don't have anything to do with the actual project or drawings.  I just want our template to be perfect.  Thanks for responding WWHub.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 28, 2009 at 9:20:07 AM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#7

grebiwnotnerb


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
19 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Seriously, an answer here would be nice. I have the same problem and it's driving me mad. I'm on Revit Architecture 2010 and still no apparent fix to this annoyance.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 28, 2009 at 9:27:24 AM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Check out this thread at AUGI: http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=38994

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 28, 2009 at 10:14:46 AM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#9

grebiwnotnerb


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
19 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Yeah, that works ok if you are just creating your parameters, but say you are me and you have already made like 12 different parameters and each one has a long complicated equation that you don't want to have to retype. This naming thing won't work because the parameter has already been given it's order. I would have to delete it and recreate it using the described method then retype the whole equation. This wouldn't even be that bad if it were just one parameter, but like i said I have like a dozen.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 3:23:12 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#10

NDArchi03


active

Joined: Fri, May 7, 2010
20 Posts
No Rating


WWHub,

That post also only applies to parameters in families, and won't work for the shared parameters that you add to Project Information.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 3:48:03 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I did not design the program and I have no control over it's modification.  I just try to give some answers that obviously some people don't like.

 

What some peolple don't understand is that you can rename a parameter ...OLD ... then create the parameters in the right order ... and ctrl-c the old formula and ctrl-vinto the new parameter....

 

But that is out of the box thinking.

 

Project parameters are listed in alphabetical order.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 4:02:09 PM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#12

NDArchi03


active

Joined: Fri, May 7, 2010
20 Posts
No Rating


WWHub,

I was not trying to attack your advice, and I am sorry if it came across that way.  I did find the link you posted helpful for normal families, and I have found all of your posts I have come across on the site to be informed and very helpful.  I know the limitations of the software are not your fault.  As best as I can figure out Project Parameters do not sort alphabetically, see the attached image, and I am puzzled at how Revit decides to sort things.



Attached Images

88384_Project_Information.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 at 11:33:10 AM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#13

kchampag


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 7, 2010
2 Posts
No Rating


I'm having the same issue. I've added consultants and their contact information to our Project Information. I assumed it would display in alphabetical order. Could it be displayed in the order in which the parameters were created? I did a test parameter to see where it would land, and it is displayed at the bottom.

Any suggestions for this would be greatly appreciated!!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 at 11:37:43 AM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#14

NDArchi03


active

Joined: Fri, May 7, 2010
20 Posts
No Rating


I have been doing some experimenting and I think the order, at least for shared parameters, is based on the order they were created in the shared parameter file.  So to fix my issue, I manually edited my shared parameter file and deleted the parameters I was having issue with, then from Revit I re-created the shared parameters in the order I wanted them listed in my project, then I added them to my project in the same order.  I haven't experimented enough to know for sure if it was the order I created them in the shared parameter file, or the order they were inserted into my project.  The sorting problem I was having earlier leads me to believe the former, but as I said, I can’t say that definitively yet.  I hope this helps.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 at 11:48:54 AM | Project Information - Order of Parameters

#15

NDArchi03


active

Joined: Fri, May 7, 2010
20 Posts
No Rating


Just doing some more testing and I stand corrected.  The order that parameters sort in the Project Information dialog is the order they are added to the project.  The order they are created in the shared parameter file has nothing to do with it.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Project Information Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 27, 2010 at 5:31:45 PM

1

Scheduling "Project Information" parameters

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 8, 2015 at 12:36:56 PM

8

New Title Page Label Using Project Information

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 10, 2018 at 11:54:48 AM

7

Settings - Project Information help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Apr 17, 2005 at 10:24:54 PM

7

project information

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Feb 24, 2011 at 1:48:15 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2010020

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152196

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9109

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights