RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

81 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 3D View has lost visibility

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 30, 2007 at 3:07:09 AM | 3D View has lost visibility

#1

giggles


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 15, 2007
2 Posts
No Rating


I open my revit project this morning and double clicked on my 3D view and there was nothing visible on the view.  I then deleted it and created a new one with the same effect.  It goes to the view but does not show anything.  I know that it was there yesterday when I was working on the programme - have I maybe accidentally selected something that I shouldn't have??

Don't know what to do next to get it back??


This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 30, 2007 at 3:36:50 PM | 3D View has lost visibility

#2

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


The possibilities are... endless, but let's try some of the simpler ones first.

 

When you create the 3d view, type "ZF" (for zoom fit) and see if anything happens.

If that doesn't work:

 

-Are you using worksets?

-Are you using Phases?

 

and of course, I'm assuming everything still shows up in plan and elevation view... ? 



Edited on: Fri, Mar 30, 2007 at 3:37:17 PM

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 30, 2007 at 7:32:18 PM | 3D View has lost visibility

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


here is a list of things to check from the Revit Beginners blog by David Duarte

Did something in your project disappear?

  • First, check to see if it is still visible in other views.
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. Is the object category (and subcategories) ON?
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. Is the linestyle set to Override?
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. Is the detail level set to By View?
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. Are all the worksets ON?
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. Are all the filters ON?
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. If the object is in a linked file check Revit Links.
  • Check Visibility/Graphics. Check each design option.
  • Try changing phase and phase filter in View Properties (VP).
  • Try changing the detail level of the view.
  • Are all your worksets opened? (it may be hiding in a closed workset).
  • Check View Range in View Properties (VP).
  • Check for Plan Regions if in a floor plan view.
  • The object may have been moved to a new elevation.
  • Check Crop Region and Far Clip settings in View Properties (VP).
  • Set your view to wireframe. It may be hiding behind a filled region or other object.
  • Select the Linework tool (set to By Category) and see if it wasn't hidden with this tool. It would be very benefitial if one could toggle on/off the use of the linework tool in a view.
  • If the problem is with a family file open the family and check the visibility of the elements.

If you can't find it by now it was probably deleted.

 

HTH



Edited on: Fri, Mar 30, 2007 at 7:32:54 PM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 2, 2008 at 4:05:32 PM | 3D View has lost visibility

#4

EmeraldCityReviteer


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 6, 2007
9 Posts
No Rating


I'm having a similar problem.  I think I've rotated the model out of the 3d viewport.  I've tried zoom fit, zoom extents, showing hidden, wireframe, and resetting the crop all to no avail.  How can I get the model back in the crop region?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 2, 2008 at 4:20:09 PM | 3D View has lost visibility

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


First - did you do everything coreed suggested?  - If you didn't - do it now then ask again.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 1:56:17 PM | 3D View has lost visibility

#6

nmartin


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 11, 2007
18 Posts
No Rating


i ran into this problem this morning. nothing coreed posted fixed the problem. i found out that the 3D view had zoomed out some 250 million feet and the program appeared to have gotten lost and couldn't find the 3D model (plans were fine, nothing was deleted). turning off the crop box and zooming wouldn't locate the model.

so to fix it, i drew a line in plan view a few million feet long and switched to 3D so i could see where the line was. then it was just a task of zooming in while moving the viewport back to where it was supposed to be. no idea what caused the problem, maybe a glitch (using '08 ).



Edited on: Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 1:56:59 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 27, 2014 at 9:13:10 AM | 3D View has lost visibility

#7

sibila


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 17, 2006
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello

I have the exact same problem in revit 2014. Thanks to nmartin i've manage to find the 3d model, it had been hiding away.

Nevertheless when i try to orbit around the model, it disappears again.. Does anybody  know how to fix this huge problem?

 

Thanks .


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2014 at 2:27:52 AM | 3D View has lost visibility

#8

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


sounds like the pivot point for rotation is far away from the model.

move that to the model then pivot or rotate.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2014 at 7:22:51 AM | 3D View has lost visibility

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


99% of the time, you have a model element far away from the rest of the model.   I suggest you window the entire view and see where all of the objects are found.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Lost Import

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 16, 2007 at 8:26:13 AM

1

Room Tag is lost visibility is on

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 20, 2012 at 7:04:09 AM

4

New from Portland, lost my 3d model

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 9:34:29 PM

5

How to hide Level2 and just show Level1 in 3D view.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 7, 2005 at 2:06:06 PM

4

visibility issue with view and view on sheet 2017

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 19, 2017 at 11:47:36 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1984555

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152175

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6058

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights