RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

51 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Mirroring problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 22, 2007 at 6:14:32 PM | Mirroring problems

#1

Colefo


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


Hi everyone, this is my first post.  I check out this site every day for the past year and a half though.  I'm the CAD manager for a homebuilder.  We are in the process of converting our homes and designing all new homes in Revit and we love it so far.  The major problem I am having is with mirroring (not a surprise!).  I just finished a fairly custom two story craftsman style home that we are getting ready to build.  The problem is I need to mirror it.  Eventually we'll need a mirrored version of every plan.  I've mirrored a few homes before and haven't had too much trouble but these were usually in earlier stages of development. 

One problem I'm having is when I select everything (in 3D wireframe) then tab through each view selecting text, dimensions etc. and get ready to mirror about a reference plan the "create copy" box is greyed out giving me no choice but to make a copy.  Does anyone know why this does this???

The second problem appears to have something to do with my in-place families (popouts, general exterior craftsman details etc.).  It won't mirror the house period because of these (I think).  Am I going to have to bite the bullet and delete all of these details, mirror, then redo them?  If so, fine, I'll just mirror future homes before the detailing.  I don't know if this is the only problem but it is all I can get from the highly detailed error messages Smile after it tells me "cannot copy selection".

 Having two versions of each house or being able to fairly easilly mirror a single "base" version is extremely crucial to getting these homes to the field quickly and justifying all of the time and expense of our revit conversion here.  I absolutely love the program Cryingexcept for the dang mirroring) but it is hard to explain to the bosses why such an expensive and advanced program can't do what AutoCAD can.  All they want is homes on time without errors.

 Any help is would be greatly appreciated.  Sorry for such a long post. 

Thanks!

Cole


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 22, 2007 at 9:14:29 PM | Mirroring problems

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Mirroring is (and has been) a problem in Revit.  There is no good way right now.  Hopefully Revit 2008 will finally address the problem.  Of course I hoped that 6, 6.1, 7, 7.1, 8, 8.1, 9 & 9.1 would have addressed the problem too.

Edited on: Thu, Mar 22, 2007 at 9:20:31 PM

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 4:25:42 PM | Mirroring problems

#3

Colefo


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


I found (through reading posts) that linking the file into a new project and then mirroring it there works pretty sweet.  I just have to have two files for one house in the folder.  Too bad you can't bind the linked file and explode it.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 4:45:13 PM | Mirroring problems

#4

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Yes the linking works, but it needs to improve for documentation purposes.  I have real hope that Revit 2008 addresses this as I have heard rumors that linking finally gets some improvements.

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 5:06:30 PM | Mirroring problems

#5

Colefo


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


I hope it gets some improvements.  I thought the linking worked sweet until I noticed my roof framing plan (see attached pdf).  The trusses on the right don't even show up (may be some deal with that particular truss).  I can't find anything in the visibility graphics linked files area that might deal with this though.  Also, my upper and lower levels don't show at all.  In the original the lower level top plate is an underlay with a plan region showing the upper level.  the roof outlines are missing on the left garage roof.  If you hover your mouse over the linked file, all teh roof outlines show up red.  The other annoying thing is the shaded region I've used for overframing is no longer see-through.  Any ideas? 

 Cole



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

BE AWARE .... REVIT problems with mirroring

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 22, 2007 at 12:43:54 PM

2

mirroring problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:04:27 PM

3

Mirroring

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 14, 2013 at 4:28:29 PM

2

More Mirroring

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 1:01:51 PM

1

Mirroring House model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 27, 2004 at 4:33:14 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1966646

Objects:

22852

Forum Posts:

152164

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3189

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights