RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

40 Users Online (39 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Mar 4, 2007 at 9:18:45 PM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#1

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Looking to see how other people do this.  I have existing 6" walls that are studs only and I'm trying to find the best way to add gyp board to each side of the wall in the New Construction Phase.  Just looking for opinions here.  Thanks!

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 5, 2007 at 7:46:36 AM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#2

bucksy


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 7, 2004
17 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


you could create a wall as 'drywall' only. then draw it as new construction.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 5, 2007 at 8:59:01 AM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#3

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Thought about that.  The only consequence I could think of for that would be the overlapping walls warning. and then having wall based families only cutting one of those walls (ie: door, window, opening, etc.)

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 5, 2007 at 2:17:08 PM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#4

jmickle


active

Joined: Tue, May 2, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


couldnt you then just join the two walls and the door/window/opening would then cut both. (excuse me if I'm wrong.)


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 5, 2007 at 3:34:13 PM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#5

bucksy


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 7, 2004
17 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


that's right; draw the wall next to the other, join, a wall-based item should cut threough both.

Walls should not overlap. Make sure your loc line is set right.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 5, 2007 at 4:59:00 PM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#6

jmickle


active

Joined: Tue, May 2, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


yessssssss


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 6, 2007 at 11:24:19 AM | NEW Gyp on EXISTING Stud wall

#7

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


I see.. you were suggesting a single 1/2" wall (for gyp) next to the existing wall.  That makes sense and would probably work well.  Thanks for the suggestion.

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Stud Wall-Make finishes disappear

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 5:24:09 PM

4

Wall Footings

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 2:16:22 PM

7

How are you all naming wall types

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 11, 2007 at 2:24:37 PM

2

Renovation Wall Suggestions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 23, 2007 at 8:23:18 AM

2

Revit 2012 - Where have my stud wall lines dissappeared to?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 12:57:17 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2003070

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152186

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1157

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights