RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

271 Users Online (132 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Title Labels

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Tue, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:50:18 PM | Title Labels

#1

Recit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 30, 2006
25 Posts
No Rating


Hi Everyone:

I need to make a title block that has 4 labels editibale each seperately per sheet (instance parameters) when the title block is in a sheet.

Please see attached image for graphical example. I want to edit the labels similar to how the "Drawn By" labels work in the title sheet per sheet per instace, but without being part of the project information parameters.

Thanks.

-R



Attached Images

20661_2048585x11-TitleBlock.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 22, 2007 at 2:23:54 AM | Title Labels

#2

dduarte


active
dduarte Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 1, 2006
44 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


  • Open your titleblock family
  • Add LABEL
  • Add Shared Parameter (create or load shared parameter file if needed)
  • Load your new family back into the project
  • Add a your shared parameter to Project Parameters (Drawing Sheets category)


Edited on: Wed, Feb 21, 2007 at 8:25:53 PM

-----------------------------------

David

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 22, 2007 at 5:36:42 PM | Title Labels

#3

Recit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 30, 2006
25 Posts
No Rating


 

 

Thanks it works. Now I get a Blue ? Question mark....it is editable. However, I don't get the sample text for that label, just the blue question mark.

 -R


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 21, 2007 at 10:43:31 PM | Title Labels

#4

pleasantc


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 19, 2007
10 Posts
No Rating


Where would you find a file that you could use to create or load a shared parameter? I've tried this several times for different things, and I always run into the same problem - where to find a file to create or load!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 17, 2007 at 8:54:31 PM | Title Labels

#5

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I followed these instructions from the help menu.

  1. From the File menu, choose Shared Parameters.

    The Edit Shared Parameters dialog appears.

  2. Click Create to begin creating an external parameter file. Type a file name and save it to the desired location.
  3. After creating the file, you create parameter groups. In the Groups box, click New. Type the name of a new parameter group and click OK.

    Parameter groups help you to categorize your parameters. For example, you might create a group called electrical for specific electrical parameters or a hardware group for specific hardware parameters. You can create as many parameter groups as desired.

  4. You can now create parameters that are part of the group. From the Parameter group drop-down menu, select a group to which you want to add parameters.
  5. In the Parameters group box, click New. Type a name for the parameter, specify its value type (types include text, integer, number, and length). Create as many parameters as desired.
    NOTE:You do not specify the parameter to be instance or type. You decide that later when you add the parameter to a family or a project. See Instance and Type Properties.
  6. When finished creating parameters, click OK.

But I can't find where to fill in the information in my titleblock.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 17, 2007 at 9:12:18 PM | Title Labels

#6

pleasantc


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 19, 2007
10 Posts
No Rating


When you click on your sheet to place a label, a parameters box pops up. If you click Add, then Select in the next box that pops up, and then Edit in the next box, then Browse or Create, you should be able to find where you saved your parameters. Is that what you were asking about?

I don't know if this helps either, but something I didn't understand in the beginning was that you only create one parameter file, with different groups within it. This is because you can't have more than one active set of parameters in a file at a time, or something to that effect. So, you would have your project info (city, state), window, tag, etc. parameter groups in one parameter file. In the instructions you posted, it tells you to do that, but it doesn't say that it is essential!!

Hope that helps and/or doesn't insult your intelligence!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 24, 2008 at 4:08:36 PM | dduarte

#7

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting dduarte from 2007-02-21 20:23:54

"

  • Open your titleblock family
  • Add LABEL
  • Add Shared Parameter (create or load shared parameter file if needed)
  • Load your new family back into the project
  • Add a your shared parameter to Project Parameters (Drawing Sheets category)
Edited on: Wed, Feb 21, 2007 at 8:25:53 PM"

Is there a way to make this LABEL a type parameter to have all your titleblocks update?  Cuz when I load the project parameter adn I select Type, then I can't select the 'Drawing Sheets' Catagory???  Please help?  Thanks,

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 11, 2008 at 7:42:10 PM | Title Labels

#8

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Can anyone tell me how to get a type parameter in a title block?  The instance parameter was successful.  But, we'd like to add a type parameter that we can edit the same way as a instance parameter without having to go into the properties dialog.  Is this possible?

 

Thanks

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 15, 2008 at 11:28:46 PM | Title Labels

#9

batsun101


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 13, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


Hi, Everyone:

I also try to create label that work same as "draw by" label. Witch can be edit on each sheet.

 I have try the steps listed above. I still can't not edit that blue ?. I also typed infornation into the element property but no luck. 

Is anyone can help me to make it work?

Do I need to recreate the titleblock?

 

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 25, 2009 at 11:35:54 PM | Recit

#10

zulkarneyn


active
zulkarneyn Avatar

Joined: Wed, Nov 19, 2008
16 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Recit from 2007-02-22 11:36:42

"

 

 

Thanks it works. Now I get a Blue ? Question mark....it is editable. However, I don't get the sample text for that label, just the blue question mark.

 -R

"
i ve same problem , i can see blue question mark if i click the title block, how can i solve it.

Edited on: Sun, Jan 25, 2009 at 5:37:53 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 16, 2010 at 5:26:42 AM | Title Labels

#11

climbjclimb


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 16, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


Try inserting the titleblock in a new sheet and then edit the sheet properties without selecting anything in the sheet space. This might work.

If you cannot find the parameter you are looking for you need to add the shared parameter from the shared parameter file to the Sheets object within Project Parameters under Manage tab. If this doesn't solve things things let me know and I will send you a few screen shots.

Jason


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 1:27:33 AM | Title Labels

#12

Memmelle1


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 30, 2011
31 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I seem to be having the same trouble. I am trying to add a Project Address label to my Title Block.

Once I Load it into Project, I can see it in the Title Block, but it is not edittable. I've followed all the steps above and no success.

 

Project Name works. Client Name works....Project Address, nope.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 1:53:54 AM | Title Labels

#13

Memmelle1


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 30, 2011
31 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I seem to be having the same trouble. I am trying to add a Project Address label to my Title Block.

Once I Load it into Project, I can see it in the Title Block, but it is not edittable. I've followed all the steps above and no success.

 

Project Name works. Client Name works....Project Address, nope.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 2:39:43 PM | Title Labels

#14

BIMChimp


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2012
28 Posts
No Rating


Memmelle,

 

Go to your Project Information in the Manage Tab.  You edit the address and project number in there.

 

HTH,

LJ



Edited on: Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 8:40:28 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 21, 2012 at 5:06:00 PM | Title Labels

#15

Memmelle1


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 30, 2011
31 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks BIMChimp that worked for the Project Address. Any suggestions on how to get my Client Address label I created to work?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Title Block labels

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Apr 9, 2007 at 3:04:03 AM

2

Title Block Labels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 14, 2007 at 5:52:49 PM

0

Labels in title block literally gone in project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 at 2:22:22 PM

6

View Labels and Bubbles are gone?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 23, 2006 at 6:16:57 PM

4

Title block labels not appearing in projct

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 10:36:25 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1771919

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151918

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1040

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights