RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

341 Users Online (196 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 13, 2007 at 10:07:57 PM | Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


To create a control joint "gap" that will show up in my plan and elevation, I used the "opening" option under the modelling tab and cut the opening in the wall in plan.  Works great until I noticed that the opening topped out well short of the top of my wall in elevation and in 3D viewing.  (See attached images.)  The exterior wall is a stacked wall but the opening doesn't stop at the beginning or ending of any of the stacked walls.  Why does Revit do this kind of crap to me?  What have I done to deserve it?

Attached Images

20457_Wall_Control_Joint_Plan_.jpg20457_Wall_Control_Joint_Elevation.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 16, 2007 at 6:42:10 PM | Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Don't split your wall - use a vertical wall reveal.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 16, 2007 at 9:21:05 PM | I finally figured out that I could right click on the "opening".................

#3

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


....................and set the opening height at whatever I wanted.  That took care of my problem.  When you say do a "vertical reveal" is that a different process than cutting the opening in the wall in plan?  Are you cutting it in elevation or is this something else entirely?  Thanks for the help.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 16, 2007 at 9:59:32 PM | Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


In elevation and the modeling menu, select "Host Sweep", "wall Reveal" and choose the profile you want.  (You will probably have to create the one you want but use something that's already there to check out the process.)

 

If this is a construction jt in masonry, you might model this as a shallow 'V' .  You could also model it as a positive wall sweep that is the full depth of the masonry - the thickness of the sealant and color or material approprite.

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 17, 2007 at 2:40:23 PM | I am talking about a vertical joint in the wall.

#5

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Aren't you talking about using a sweep to create a horizontal joint in the wall?

 Since you seem to be an experienced Revit user, I want to ask if you have fits with stacked walls like I have been experiencing.  The Autodeck Revit architects that I have talked to admit that stacked walls do funny things somtimes and they don't know why.

 1) I seem to only be able to miter one end of stack walls, sometimes.  This seems to happen when they reach over 100 ft. without a break.  I take the exit same stacked wall and when I don't happen to create the four walls by linking at the same time, I end up with one of the four corners un-mitered when I corner trim all four corners.  I separate the unmitered corner, re-trim, it miters fine, but one of the others then unmiters itself.  I have to split the wall into two separate pieces to get both ends to corner miter in plan.  Autodesk has no explanation for this.

2)  Sometimes I could make a 3/4" break in a wall (to create that vertical control joint mentioned above) that separated perfectly, further down in the same wall at another "joint" I would have to right click on the blue dot on each side of the joint to select "dissallow join" to keep the break open, and then on the next joint even that wouldn't work.  That joint refused to "not join" and would not let me create a 3.4" break in the wall.  Again, Autodesk has no explanation.

3)  Along with the corner mitering problem, when one of the walls being mitered was a gable wall attached to the roof, when one corner the gable wall unmitered itself, half of the gable wall also unattached itself to the roof, BUT it was the opposite half away from the corner that became unmitered.  It would not let me reattach that half of the wall to the roof until I got the opposite corner to miter in plan.

Does anyone else have these kind of problems with stacked walls?


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Feb 17, 2007 at 3:12:31 PM | Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

#6

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I could not replicate the problems you are having with your stacked walls.

 

On the modeling tab>host sweep>wall reveal on the bar above your screen it will say horizontal or vertical. I just tried it on a stacked wall with a ½"x½" profile. You have to click on your stacked wall twice, once on the bottom material and once on the top.....THEN click start next. That's my wishlist pet peeve (the start next thing)

 

my personal preference with the attach wall thing is not to do it. make your wall profile match your gable end wall. I have a paranoid suspicion that joining stuff reduces performance. It just seems every now and then my project will just come to a crawl for no apparent reason. 



This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Feb 18, 2007 at 2:31:44 PM | Thanks for the advice. Works great!

#7

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I hope the attach wall thingy isn't a major cause of how huge Revit files get cause I really like being able to change my roof level and having all the walls follow automatically.  That wall opening in elevation works great.


This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Feb 18, 2007 at 2:53:25 PM | Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Hogmodo,

Sweeps - Reveals are basically the same.  One is positive and the other is negative and both can be applied either vertically or horizontally.  The vertical / horizontal "switch" is on your status bar after you choose if it's a reveal or sweep.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Openings - Changing Height

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 28, 2009 at 2:05:26 PM

4

Wall Openings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 7:40:22 PM

7

Opening cut and Void cut not allowed

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 2, 2013 at 7:29:16 PM

10

5'8" wall will not be cut by cutplane

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 13, 2017 at 9:49:59 PM

1

Control the depth of a wall opening?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 8:09:23 PM

10

Site Stats

Members:

1496688

Objects:

21168

Forum Posts:

151163

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9638

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights