RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

23 Users Online (22 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps >> Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 17, 2007 at 11:33:19 AM | Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

#1

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Specifically, we're working with a company that will be doing energy modelling for a sustainable house we are designing.  They will have to build a parametric model for the modelling that they will be doing (using R values of walls, light transmission of windows, etc.)  They use Energy 10 software.  Does anyone have any experience transferring files between these two systems?  Are there any changes I will need to make to the Revit model to make the file transfer more smooth?

 

Thanks for any advice or help.

 Ruth


-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:36:19 AM | Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Revit can export to gbXML format which is becoming the industy standard for energy analysis information exchange.
Check with your consultant to see if they can use this file format.  Of course you can always export 3D dwg and dxf files, but there is not all the 'meta data' that goes out with the old formats.
Also check out:  www.greenbuildingstudio.com  

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Dec 30, 2007 at 3:22:24 PM | Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

#3

JimMerritt


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


Too bad you couldn't talk them into using IES/VE which seems to work well with Revit.  They have some free plug-ins for doing basic analysis.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 29, 2008 at 3:44:57 PM | Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

#4

MarauderX


active
MarauderX Avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


IES & Trane Trace are looking like they work the best.  The only other I've tried has been Carrier's HAP, but with poor results.  You really need to pay attention to the ins & outs of the geometry to make sure it transfers properly. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 22, 2009 at 7:15:11 AM | Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

#5

KKERRIDGE


active
KKERRIDGE Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jun 11, 2008
68 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Ive had some good luck with Trane Trace, but I still have to set my wall construction after I import it into Trace. The company I work for would like to go to IES since it will do the full energy modeling that is needed on many of our projects.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 26, 2011 at 7:26:42 AM | Is Revit compatible with energy modeling softwares?

#6

ruileitecastro


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 15, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


I have the same problem with walls working with trace 700.

 

And now another one with ventilation outdoor air.

 

I am tryoing to panning everything to be automatic since revit or the most i can.

What you sggest me for ventilations? What are you doing in revit and trace by gbxml?

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Energy Modeling Software Compatible with Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Sep 14, 2009 at 3:31:36 PM

0

eQuest vs Revit Energy Modeling

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Aug 19, 2019 at 4:07:03 AM

0

Revit 2008 MEP Energy modeling: Editability of construction assembly types

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 10, 2007 at 3:37:36 PM

1

Revit 2008 compatible with piranesi 5???

Community >> The Studio

Mon, May 12, 2008 at 9:57:49 PM

1

Energy Analysis stairs and Elevators

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 3:30:43 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

2011578

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152201

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9607

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights