RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

53 Users Online (51 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rendering

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Nov 27, 2006 at 6:18:45 AM | Rendering

#1

Donso


active
Donso Avatar

Joined: Sat, May 7, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


I'd like to use an external rendering engine in conjuction withh revit for better renderings, can anyone advise me on which one is most compatible and how to link up the two.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 27, 2006 at 6:54:09 AM | Rendering

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


as far as i know you cannot directly link revit models into a external renderor. you have to export out as a dwg or other to utilize a different renerdering engine such as max, viz, etc.

 HTH



Edited on: Mon, Nov 27, 2006 at 8:35:21 AM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:31:44 AM | Rendering

#3

Donso


active
Donso Avatar

Joined: Sat, May 7, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


thanks, so which software do you suggest i use after exporting to dwg, and will the materials still be recognised by the other software?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 5:41:33 AM | Rendering

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i don't do a lot of rendering other than with Revit. most people use max or viz. but i'm sure there are others.

i think if you are more interested in haveing materials export and carry over, you should check the polymesh option when exporting. hopefully someone else can shed more light on this subject for you?

 HTH



Edited on: Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 5:42:18 AM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:24:49 PM | Rendering

#5

jrogers


active
jrogers Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 2, 2006
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I use Maya 7.0 and below as these versions import DWG fine, then you just texture away and create your own scene using your own lights etc. revit rendering is bad, Max,Maya & Viz are the best for rendering.

 

if you wish to keep your own revit textures applied to your model than Viz would be the way to go.

hope this helps

Josh 


-----------------------------------
J-Ro

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Realistic Rendering [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 2:30:37 PM

25

2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 13, 2009 at 7:36:39 AM

22

09' Rendering Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 4:22:51 PM

11

Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 4:32:50 PM

6

help with rendering!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 10:47:17 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2012042

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152207

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5098

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights