RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (91 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Changing Level Heights and having corresponding objects move

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Nov 18, 2006 at 8:15:15 PM | Changing Level Heights and having corresponding objects move

#1

rowdy


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 12, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


Level Changes

 

I have discovered that changing level heights does not necessarily change the heights of relative objects. It appears that the sections and elevations that show the levels refer to the first level created. Subsequent levels that are created via “duplicating” a plan, are not visible in the sections. If you insert an object into a duplicate level, it takes on that levels name as a reference. i.e. if Plan 1 was first made, then you duplicate it to Plan 1-a , then if you change the height in a section of  Plan 1, the objects that had been placed into Plan 1-a will not move. I can only get the doors, windows, wall, etc. that are tied to Plan 1-a to move by going to the plan, and choosing them as groups, and altering their reference level. Big pain the  butt, one would assume that all duplicate levels would change height when anyone one of them changes.

 

Does anyone know how to get a duplicate level to show up on a section or elevation so I can alter its height, or maybe change its parameter somewhere?

 

Lost in Revit.

 

Richard Yates

 

richard@zydeco66.com

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 20, 2006 at 12:55:26 AM | Changing Level Heights and having corresponding objects move

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Hi Richard,

 

You do sound a little lost in Revit Smile Easy to do...

 

When you say "changing level heights" are you actually changing the level height (only possible to do from a section or elevation) or are you going into the view range settings of the plan view and change its cut plane, bottom and top levels?  If its the latter all you are doing is changing visibility options for that particular view which is why the "level changes" you refer to and not showing in your duplicated views.

 

If you actually want to change the level at which say level 1 reads:

 

Say level is currently at 0.  In section select the level and click on the elevational value to active it, then change to what you require it to be, or select the level and use the move command.

 

If you want to move all the levels up by a set amount you are best to use the relocate project tool...  Which works similar to the move command and you'll find it in your pull down at the top of screen.

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:51:31 PM | Changing Level Heights and having corresponding objects move

#3

rowdy


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 12, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the tips, but they didn't addrees my problem. Open a new file and draw the plan for Level One, then add some objects to it. The objects put on to that plan are referenced to that plan, Level 1. If you duplicate the plan and now have Level 1a, and add objects that Level  which is at the indentical height of Level 1, they, the new objects show up on both levels. This is what I would expect, because the only way to make different scaled plan views for different sheets is to duplicate the plan. But, if I change ojects on level 1, I want them to change on the duplicated level. But what happens when I go to a section, and move or change the level heightof Level 1, only the objects that where drawn on that level will change height. Any objects on Level 1a stay at the orginial level. This doesn't make any sense. I had to go back and change all of the objects to be referenced to the orginal level.

On another point, I cannot get all Levels to show up in certain sections. I have checked the limits in the properties for the section, and made sure that the "scale is not coarser" , and the levels do not show up.

Richard Yates

 

 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:03:12 PM | Changing Level Heights and having corresponding objects move

#4

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


I think you are confused by the naming that Revit uses.  When you start a project from a template the Level Name and the View name based on that Level are the same [i.e. Level 1 is both a level and view name]  If you change the name of a level Revit will ask you if you want to change the name of the view and if you change the name of a view it will ask you if you want to change the name of the level.  This behavior suggests to the user that both names must be the same and are tied to each other.  This linkage does occur, but only to the first view created from a level.  That doesn't mean you can break the link.  If your Level is named 'Level 1' you may want to rename it to 'Floor 1' and then choose not to rename the view.  Then in the project browser rename the view 'Floor 1 Construction Plan' and say no to renaming the level.

When you duplicate 'Floor 1 Constuction Plan' you get Copy of Floor 1 Construction Plan'  Rename that to 'Floor 1 Furniture Plan'  You now have two view that are both based on the same level 'Floor 1'  Plans are always based on a level and there can be more than one plan view per level.  In each of the plan views you can display dfferent objects in the model and of course annotation is view specific in Revit so each view can take on different meaning.

Objects that are 'level' based will respond to a change in the height of the level.  Other objects that are not 'level' based can be dimensioned and constrained to a level.

Hopefully this helps clear things up a little.

 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

changing multiple level heights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 31, 2012 at 2:54:11 PM

1

Move a level without deleting objects on that level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 4, 2017 at 10:20:23 AM

2

Changing Level Heights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 18, 2012 at 3:55:28 PM

5

How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 29, 2015 at 6:53:58 PM

8

Topo Height vs Level Heights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 13, 2005 at 8:25:34 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1668307

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4757

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights