RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> HELP! importing 3D objects cant be exploded

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Nov 9, 2006 at 3:44:24 PM | HELP! importing 3D objects cant be exploded

#1

thundercad


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 9, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Hi, everyone. The problem is that any 3D objects I imported intp revit9.1 (dwg, dgn, sat, skp), they cant be exploded, neither full or partial exlode. When I try to explode, the imported objects are just disapeared and I get thus message:

"import contain 3D data or points which cant be exploded. Only 2D data was exploded"

Why this happens? which step I went wrong? please help.

Also if anyone have experience of imprting 3D odjects from Rhino 3 please shed some light, thanks!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 10, 2006 at 3:34:59 AM | HELP! importing 3D objects cant be exploded

#2

thundercad


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 9, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


This problem is really troubling me. Someone please help!! Thank you, thank you!!!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 10, 2006 at 4:35:54 AM | HELP! importing 3D objects cant be exploded

#3

Scott Davis


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
64 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


you can't explode 3D imported objects. Why do you think you need to explode them in revit?  The idea of importing an object form another program is to use it the way it was.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Nov 10, 2006 at 8:29:48 AM | HELP! importing 3D objects cant be exploded

#4

thundercad


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 9, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


Scott, thanks for your reply. The needs of exploding imported 3D objects are:

1, Pick faces of mass model done in external software like stechup, microstation to form revit building components, like wall, curtain wall, etc. This is a popular method introduced by tutorial. If I cant explode the mass model, I cant pick up any faces.

2, For some unique design component, I need use special software like rhinoceros to form the shape. Then I need to import them into revit family editor and turn dimmension of sub elements into parameters to control the behavior.

I believe my question should be a prolem at all as I checked trough this good forum, there's not any one seems having such exploding problem. I must did something wrong in setting, or scaling factor..

Really hope I can get answer for this matter soon, thanks everyone again. By the way, I'm a new user of revit so please forgive me for any simple questions.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 10, 2006 at 4:48:19 PM | HELP! importing 3D objects cant be exploded

#5

Scott Davis


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
64 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


1.  in order to use Pick Face, you need to import your geometry into a Mass Family, or into a Genereic Model Family, and then Load that family into your project.  Then you can picked the faces of the family.

2.  You can't add parameters to elements made in other programs.  If the shapes are complicated enough to be made in Rhino and not Revit, it would be really tough to resize them with parameters anyway.  If your shape made in another program needs to be a different size, make the change in the other program and bring it in to revit as a new family.

Can you post an example of what you are trying to make?


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

problems importing sketchup

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 24, 2011 at 10:10:19 AM

1

CAD files importing with huge blank space [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 4:43:39 AM

16

Importing .3ds objects into revit OR a WORKAROUND??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 7, 2009 at 3:23:19 PM

1

exploded axonometric?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 5, 2006 at 12:59:53 PM

4

exploded axonometric

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 12:48:16 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1454704

Objects:

20600

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1901

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights