RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

164 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Importing CAD drawing into Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Nov 2, 2006 at 4:26:43 AM | Importing CAD drawing into Revit

#1

shiuh


active

Joined: Sat, Jul 1, 2006
6 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi all,

 i imported a dwg file into revit.   in order to modify the dwg in revit...i have fully explode it.   this however have caused my computer to run EXTREMELY SLOW.   tried purging the file also but no luck. 

the computer seems running very slow doing just 2D linework.   i would suspect the different line types in cad file that causes this slowness.  is there a way to speed up the program?  this is getting qquite frustating 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 2, 2006 at 11:29:30 AM | Importing CAD drawing into Revit

#2

jfurlong


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2005
81 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


this may not be exactly what you want. with one dwg attached your computer shouldn't be running slow but you caould try linking the dwg instaed then if you need to modify the dwg, do it in autocaed and relaod the link.

aslo if try cleaning up the dwg. deleting the parts of the drawing that you don't need, getting rid of the hatching also helps


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 2, 2006 at 11:32:23 AM | Importing CAD drawing into Revit

#3

shiuh


active

Joined: Sat, Jul 1, 2006
6 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


it is a furniture plan where are many funiture blocks in the cad file.  could this be the reason why?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 2, 2006 at 11:46:25 AM | Importing CAD drawing into Revit

#4

jfurlong


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2005
81 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


possible, try exploding the blocks in cad before you import or link the file

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Nov 4, 2006 at 10:36:37 PM | Importing CAD drawing into Revit

#5

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Hello,

The best practice that we have found to do this is to bring the CAD file into a seperate Revit file (Drafting View).

Revitize the CAD drawing and do a purge. This will not get rid of everything that is brought in from the .dwg file but when you later bring this into your current Revit file it prevent unnecessary Revit items from coming in.

After you have your CAD file Revitized, go into your current Revit file and go into the File menu and select "Insert From File" then select the "Views" option and select the Revit file which you just created from the CAD drawing.

It is generally not good practice to bring these CAD drawings into your current projects since it is rather difficult to get rid of CAD elements and in some cases not possible.

There are other things that you can also do to keep your computer from being bogged down, such as:

Keep all hidden windows closed as you are working. This is a good idea to do before a save as if ithey are not closed, Revit will regen all these windows upon opening.

Purge your file a few times a day. You can always reload what you might need later, also helps with the file size.

Last, Audit your drawing upon opening about once a week, maybe a little more. The slow opening times are worth more than the time wasted waiting for a corrupt file to be recovered.

Hope this was informational.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Importing a cad file

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 27, 2012 at 8:33:21 PM

8

CAD files importing with huge blank space [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 4:43:39 AM

16

Importing CAD 3D

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 7, 2009 at 1:26:45 PM

2

Cad not importing correctly into revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 2, 2011 at 4:36:00 PM

4

Xclip an inported CAD image in Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 4, 2010 at 7:26:12 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1769700

Objects:

22437

Forum Posts:

151906

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7264

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights