RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

410 Users Online (215 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:52:54 PM | Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#1

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I'm doing a shadow study, on a steep sloping site, and my trees don't cast shadows... is this usual... how do I get my trees to cast shadows?

-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 2:47:33 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#2

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


dumb question, but do you have shadows turned on?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 4:04:19 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Do you have a ground plane turned on or is there something for the shadows to be cast onto?

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 4:08:56 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#4

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


ofcourse!

-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 4:10:12 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#5

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


yes there is a ground plane & there are shodows from other objects like buildings etc... which work fine on the topograpy, just no shadows from trees.

-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 4:12:59 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Do the trees have a transparency setting on their material? Post a screenshot. May help rather than us playing the guessing game.

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 6:33:00 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#7

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Sure, here it is.

Attached Files

-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 6:50:40 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#8

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Simple answer, the trees you are using have a 2D representation in plan. Either make sure their 3d model is set to show in plan or use a 3D view orientated to top. HTH.

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 3:23:58 PM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#9

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Hehe, sorry. Had to ask the obvious first.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 11:17:31 PM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#10

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


how do you do set the 3d model of an object to show in plan?

-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 26, 2006 at 6:02:38 AM | RE: Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#11

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


What tree are you trying to edit? Is it one of the metric library ones? As these are locked...

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Apr 3, 2011 at 5:14:33 AM | Trees not casting shadows on shadow study??

#12

mike102


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 3, 2008
5 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


hey i had the same problem all you have to do is click on the tree that you are using>then under the modify tab click on edit the family>open up your 3d view of the tree>click on the visibility setting> then check the box that say plan/ocb> then click load into project. This will allow your tree to be 3d in plan view and cast shadows!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Some trees not casting shadows

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 at 3:55:22 PM

3

Revit 2011: Linked model not displaying casting shadows

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 6:55:13 PM

5

can i turn off 'casting shadow' function in a single light fixture in Revit2008?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 14, 2009 at 10:59:08 AM

1

SHADOWS WENT LOCO...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 24, 2007 at 10:41:18 PM

1

Help Glazing casting shadows in sun studies

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 17, 2009 at 1:19:40 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1512233

Objects:

21252

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0910

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights