RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

283 Users Online (133 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Rafter Tails

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 21, 2004 at 12:10:32 AM | Rafter Tails

#1

BoomBotty


Joined: Tue, Oct 5, 2004
1 Posts
No Rating


Has anybody had any luck modifying the three standard cuts for rafter tails in Revit? My office tends to use square cut rafter tails instead of plumb, two-cut plumb or two-cut square. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 21, 2005 at 1:14:47 PM | RE: Rafter Tails

#2

darrylmmk


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 26, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I have been able to modify the family found on this site, I think, using a void form the same thickness and which is locked to the extruded form and by applying some parameters to the void form am able to get just about any shape rafter tail I want. Give it a try, I was able to get it right quite quickly.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 13, 2005 at 10:23:27 PM | RE: Rafter Tails

Thread Post Kudo! #3

ihedberg


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2005
1 Posts
No Rating


If you just want to do a square cut (perp. to roof slope), pick two-cut square as your option and change the fascia depth to be the same as your tail.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 7, 2005 at 4:13:20 PM | RE: Rafter Tails

#4

Will9000


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 28, 2005
117 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


HI, how come revit does not always give me the option of selecting a different rafter tail, it seems to be stuck on plumb cut? Is there something obvious i am not doing? Will

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 29, 2007 at 3:04:52 PM | Rafter Tails

#5

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Does anyone know the answer to Wills question.  I too have run into this before.

Thanks,Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 26, 2012 at 6:22:23 PM | Rafter Tails

#6

gdmorgan


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 26, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


The rafter cut option may be stuck on plumb cut (and grayed out), if your roof is not a simple footprint roof with a slope defined edge.  If you have modified the shape or slope using the shape editing tools, for example, you cannot select a different rafter cut.  So it is all about the way your roof is modeled - that may affect whether or not you can choose the rafter cut or not.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Custom Rafter Tails & Roof in Revit 2012

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 7:53:02 PM

2

exposed rafter tails

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 5, 2008 at 12:24:34 AM

6

Need Help Joining Rafter Ends in Revit Architecture 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 4:09:57 PM

3

Cut a Void out of i.e. 2x12 Roof If your EXPOSED Rafter tails are 6,8 etc.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 6, 2008 at 3:16:45 PM

4

Revit 2009 : Section Tails: How to create custom Section Tails

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 17, 2008 at 8:25:05 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1566599

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0212

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights