RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

166 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Group phases

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 26, 2006 at 8:04:55 PM | Group phases

#1

goldichick


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 22, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


I am using REVIT 8.1, and I have a group that is made up of a mix of new and existing walls that I need to use repeatedly. Everytime I insert the group all of the walls come in as new construction. Is there any way to insert it so that the phase properties stay as they are in the orginal, so that I dont have to go into every group and change every single wall the reflect what it should be?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 27, 2006 at 6:40:07 AM | RE: Group phases

#2

DTS


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 11, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


I don't think you can have a mix phase as groups. Here's a suggestion, why don't you create 2 separate groups one is existing and the second as new construction. When you insert the groups you overlay existing with new construction. I haven't tried this myself. Lets us know how you go.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 27, 2006 at 12:59:18 PM | RE: Group phases

#3

goldichick


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 22, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for the suggestion, but I dont believe this works. You would still have to go into that "existing" group and change the walls to existing from new. Anytime you insert a group or even copy it, all the walls come in as new construction.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 27, 2006 at 5:08:11 PM | RE: Group phases

#4

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Nope, as of yet, phasing is project specific, so no matter how many times you copy and paste the new and existing set, it will always import it as new (unless I am also doing something wrong because I get this problem all the time.) A time saving method that I have found is to go into your original file, set the phase to existing, copy the existing walls (I often try to paste aligned so the next part works), then change the phase to new only, copy the new construction, paste it aligned. This usually works pretty well with very little modification needed. Much faster than copying all of it and then selecting each wall individually to change the phasing.

-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 27, 2006 at 5:08:52 PM | RE: Group phases

#5

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Oh, and just so you know, the problem doesn't appear to be fixed in 9.0 either.

-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 10:09:03 PM | Group phases

#6

grmorris


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 2, 2006
20 Posts
No Rating


It's been a loooong time since this was originally posted, but here's a thought.

 Make those walls that are being placed over and over again, thier own wall type, then select all instances, and change them ALL at one time to existing.  Not sure if that would do it, but it seems like a safe cheat.  I really think that will wok, you jsut need to be sure that the wall is a singular type so that you don't accidentally select that type of wall placed somewhere else.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 10:21:58 PM | Group phases

#7

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


shouldn't existing walls be their own wall type anyway?  so im on board with you.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

INSERTED GROUP - COPIED GROUP - DIFFERENT RESULT [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 23, 2016 at 9:27:29 PM

15

Group or Assembly

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 4, 2017 at 8:16:18 AM

4

edit group panel missing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 17, 2012 at 8:54:43 AM

12

Capabilities to isolate phases

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 11:43:02 AM

2

Demo Plan with multi phases

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 28, 2015 at 12:34:43 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1822997

Objects:

22579

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0990

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights