RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

214 Users Online (86 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> A Serious Error

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 7:29:37 PM | A Serious Error

#1

derxaj


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 13, 2005
91 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Hey has anyone else ever had the error pop up that says "A serious error has occurred. It is strongly recommended that you use Save As to save your work in a new file before continuing." And then the only option is to "Continue without saving"? I know its happened to me at various times before, it just did when I tried to transfer view templates from one file to another. Does anyone know if there are any serious issues associated with this error? I know in that past I've just kept working and nothing seemed to be different. Just wondering if this ever happens to anyone else and if anyone know's what it really means. Adam

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 15, 2006 at 5:46:35 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#2

Rusyel


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


I hve experienced this when upgrading a project from more than 2 versios ago, eg upgraming from 6.1 to 8.1 or above. Usually the porject has something in it specific to the previous version which it cant translate into the more recent one. Hope this helps.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 15, 2006 at 6:10:56 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#3

johann


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
24 Posts
No Rating


I receive this same error when busy with sitework. When creating pads or subregions I have experimented with creating 2 simultaneously (2 pink squares), but Revit seems unable to create these. When attempting the same process while creating floors it works and you then have 2 separate areas of floor with similar properties. Unfortunately it is a no-go for Subregions & Pads. Post edited on 2006-10-02 03:28:15

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 15, 2006 at 1:36:17 PM | RE: A Serious Error

#4

derxaj


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 13, 2005
91 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Yah...this error seems to happen at various times...its strange because it happens so randomly. An why is it called a "Serious Error" when you can just keep working like it was nothing. Anybody else get this error or know what the real cause of it is?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 15, 2006 at 6:43:50 PM | RE: A Serious Error

#5

ArchWestCY


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 29, 2006
197 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I have gotten that error when editing curved walls. I tried and tried to get around it. I worked every variasion and angle I could think of. Finially I offset the wall. Edited the new wall to be the way I wanted it. Then, deleted the old wall, and offset the new wall back into place. What happened? Why? I have no idea. I does seam to be somewhat random, but when it happens Revit really doesn't want to do what you ask. I just grit my teeth, bite my tonge, and try again. Good Luck ArchWestCY

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 18, 2006 at 7:28:16 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#6

nandini


active

Joined: Sat, Jul 30, 2005
58 Posts
No Rating


When a revit session is opened, do not close the default new empty templete thats opened..that helps..this helps ina great to not get error... after this if the error still occurs, its more because of many applications or many files opened in revit. its a way of revit handling too much of stress..!!

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 18, 2006 at 4:24:01 PM | RE: A Serious Error

#7

derxaj


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 13, 2005
91 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Hmmmm...interesting Nandini...has anyone else ever tried doing that? Keeping the empty drawing open? I'm suprised if that really works like you said.....considering the error we are talking about happens very randomly and not very often at all. Adam

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 18, 2006 at 4:56:04 PM | RE: A Serious Error

#8

administrator


active

Joined: Mon, May 8, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


yeah i have had this error as well, it was ahwile back with revit 8 it had something to do with my schools server i dont remember

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 19, 2006 at 12:12:48 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#9

cartman


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 18, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


We have lost many files since upgrading to 9.1 our problem appears to be files linked to our server. We have had no problems since saving direct to our PC's. Have spent several weeks of fustration and loss of work. Our re seller has been working with our IT since the upgrade and indicated that we were the only ones with a problem??

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 19, 2006 at 12:17:58 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#10

Rusyel


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Cartman youre not the only one with the problem, We have had confirmation from autodesk that it is an issue with 9.1 when saving across a network. We havent experienced it ourselves but have heard of it happening. It is apparently linked to a particular set of hardware configurations which REVIT doesnt like for some reason. If you contact Autodesk derect they may have more info for you (and maybe have a hard word to your reseller to check their sources...)

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 20, 2006 at 5:40:32 PM | RE: A Serious Error

#11

derxaj


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 13, 2005
91 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Yah even though this isnt the error I was talking about when I started this thread, I have heard of a few people who have recently had problems with saving to a server. There are other discussions that have talked about this as well. We recently decided to save all of our local files on our computers local harddrives so that we have them as a backup incase something happens with the central files on the server. Have you tried that yet Cartman? Does everyone recommend upgrading to 9.1 from 9.0 or are their too many problems with it? We are still running 9.0 and have never had problems with the server. Adam

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:53:31 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#12

Rusyel


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Its definately a problem specific to 9.1. The advie we have recieved is that if you upgrade to 9.1 and dont experience any problems almost striaght away then you shouldnt experience any at all. But if you do get probllems saving to a server then they have no solution, kind of makes it hard to decide to upgrade if you dont know you have a problem until you have it.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 22, 2006 at 2:58:15 AM | RE: file back up

#13

cartman


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 18, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


Yah even though this isnt the error I was talking about when I started this thread, I have heard of a few people who have recently had problems with saving to a server. There are other discussions that have talked about this as well. We recently decided to save all of our local files on our computers local harddrives so that we have them as a backup incase something happens with the central files on the server. Have you tried that yet Cartman? Does everyone recommend upgrading to 9.1 from 9.0 or are their too many problems with it? We are still running 9.0 and have never had problems with the server.

Adam

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 22, 2006 at 3:07:32 AM | RE: File backup to server

#14

cartman


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 18, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


Yah even though this isnt the error I was talking about when I started this thread, I have heard of a few people who have recently had problems with saving to a server. There are other discussions that have talked about this as well. We recently decided to save all of our local files on our computers local harddrives so that we have them as a backup incase something happens with the central files on the server. Have you tried that yet Cartman? Does everyone recommend upgrading to 9.1 from 9.0 or are their too many problems with it? We are still running 9.0 and have never had problems with the server.

Adam

Yes Adam we are backing up to our individual PC's with no corrupt files since. Has anyone heard of this happening outside of Australia?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 22, 2006 at 3:52:56 AM | RE: A Serious Error

#15

hisdirt


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 6, 2005
123 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Cmon ya aussies! Pull it together!

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Render Calculation Error? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 12:53:38 PM

19

Feet per second squared error? What?? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 20, 2013 at 8:26:22 AM

18

Revit Error on Shutdown

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 22, 2011 at 2:43:15 AM

12

Revit 2014 - Disappearing error message

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 6, 2013 at 10:12:48 PM

10

Error id 124491

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 3:44:33 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1651512

Objects:

22099

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1745

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights