RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

255 Users Online (90 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 4:11:18 PM | Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#1

westfield


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 11, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


Why dont you have any shutters to put around windows? I figured shutters came on houses. But not on Revit?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 6:16:01 PM | RE: Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#2

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Your question begs me to ask another. If houses come with shutters, why don't people use them? Because they are nailed to the side of the house, you say? Then why put them on in the first place. I personally cannot stand the fact that architecturally bland buildings (and this is a gross generalization and I realize that) can get away with being put into the built environment by slapping on a few decorative features. Add some gingerbread trim to the porch and some fake shutters to the side and suddenly a box becomes cute. Sorry just a little rant about taste. I recognize that not every shares mine and I apologize in advance if I have offended. If you're talking about operable shutters, my guess as to why they don't come as standard families for Revit is they are mainly used in adaptive reuse or rennovation projects, for which Revit does not have many families.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 6:16:41 PM | RE: Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#3

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


And if you're looking for a few, some nice people here on Revitcity have posted some very nice shutters.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 6:16:44 PM | RE: Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#4

stevelj


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 9, 2006
23 Posts
No Rating


There in the windows library folder low res and high res.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 7:07:28 PM | RE: Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#5

derxaj


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 13, 2005
91 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Great comment kesflower.....everyone who calls themselves an Architect should share that opinion....most people today don't even realize what shutters are for or what their purpose is....just slap it on because it looks good....this is really the key to what's wrong with Architecture today...the mindset is so geared to pleasing the client and doing what everyone else is doing rather then teaching the world what good Architecture truely is.... But yah anyways...shutters would a pretty easy family to make if they arent in the family explorer on here... Post edited on 2006-09-14 14:07:58

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 18, 2006 at 6:25:35 AM | RE: Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#6

Erik


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 9, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


I doubt if Revit has omitted shutters for philosophical reasons :-). I know BIM will have a sweeping impact on architects, but I do not expect the program to be the judge of what is right or what wrong. I might want to show shutters as an alternative in my argument not to use them :-) Anyway, nice to divert from the pure techincal somthimes

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 19, 2010 at 7:49:13 PM | Why doesnt Revit have shutters?

#7

donovaki


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 27, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


I find this conversation humorous because I'm currently searching for a set of operable shutters to place in my Revit model for a house that my firm is designing.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Painted Raised panel shutters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jul 22, 2017 at 2:18:15 PM

1

Need help finding or creating SHUTTERS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 17, 2008 at 8:59:41 PM

3

Double Skin facade with folding shutters

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Nov 13, 2019 at 3:31:43 AM

5

How do I draw Bermuda shutters?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 11, 2010 at 8:07:45 PM

9

Swing(able) hinged shutters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 5:37:47 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1668297

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8755

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights