RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

233 Users Online (100 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> CAD symbol imports

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 2:47:15 PM | please help!!

#1

cara


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 14, 2004
1 Posts
No Rating


I’ve downloaded hjcobs Corinthian column from revitcity.com, however am having problems. (Corinthian_Column_234) we can not scale it, change it’s size, height..etc. it scales in revit about 2’ tall. I need it 8’8”. I think the column looks great and really don’t want to rebuilt a new one. Since it’s just an imported CAD symbol from autoCAD, how is this done? Can you change it and reload it to revitcity or just email back to me? OR can someone explain to me how these work. Thanks! Post edited on 2006-09-11 14:24:44 Post edited on 2006-09-11 14:25:23

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 7:27:56 PM | RE: CAD symbol imports

#2

jstewart


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 5, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


I am interested in this as well any help would be HUGE! I usually try not to use the Families that are made with CAD imports because I never really understood them. I guess it is time to learn. Thanks

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:24:42 PM | RE: CAD symbol imports

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


Imported DWG's can be scaled using the scale tool in the family. They will not adjust height etc, though. Will only adjust proportionally. If you want to make them truly parametric you would need to recreate them from scratch using revit solids. One possibility would be to create the column as a planting family, as they have a special ability that enables them to automatically scale to your set height when nested into another planting family... HTH

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Bring CAD links/imports to top

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 9, 2013 at 4:34:33 PM

2

Remove hidden CAD imports

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 6, 2008 at 3:32:16 PM

3

Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 4:37:00 PM

5

REMOVING CAD IMPORTS IN REVIT MEP 2011 AFTER DELETING

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 3:23:27 PM

1

Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 21, 2007 at 12:45:27 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1473285

Objects:

21052

Forum Posts:

151015

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2184

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights