RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

289 Users Online (128 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 9.1 warning

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 2:32:00 AM | Revit 9.1 warning

#1

puzzle


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 19, 2005
217 Posts
3.5 Stars: 8 Votes


I have just discovered in our office that if you are saving projects across a network that the file will eventually become corrupt an d you won't be able to open the project. We lost 3 projects. This has been confirmed by our resellers support and we were not the first to report it. The work around is to save to your local computer then save that file to your project folder on the network.

-----------------------------------

Macca

Sunshine Coast

QLD Australia

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 8:19:35 AM | RE: Revit 9.1 warning

#2

psymon


active
psymon Avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 11, 2005
185 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


That is pretty scary! Who is your reseller? I would have a few questions for them myself. Did they say that Autodesk recognises this as a problem?

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 9:11:19 AM | RE: Revit 9.1 warning

#3

puzzle


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 19, 2005
217 Posts
3.5 Stars: 8 Votes


Our reseller is KarelCad. They said that Autodesk have recognized the problem and are in the process of fixing it. My main concern is that we weren't the first to find this problem yet no one was told of the problem.

-----------------------------------

Macca

Sunshine Coast

QLD Australia

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 12:40:50 PM | RE: Revit 9.1 warning

#4

quiller


active
quiller Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2003
171 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


As a rule you should always save locally first and then save to central. If anything is going to happen it will be on saving to central.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:28:48 PM | RE: Revit 9.1 warning

#5

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


I agree, always save localy before saving to central. This is a big issue and it is a bit of a worry that only now we hear about it.

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:47:58 AM | RE: Revit 9.1 warning

#6

puzzle


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 19, 2005
217 Posts
3.5 Stars: 8 Votes


Thanks for the replies. As of today we have taken your advice a will definately be save to local first.

-----------------------------------

Macca

Sunshine Coast

QLD Australia

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 5, 2006 at 10:49:24 PM | Revit 9.1 warning

#7

weswark


active
weswark Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 6, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


Hi guys.saving locally first -> then saving to central is fine if your using worksets, but what if the project does not demand multiple users & therefore worksets..........I am working on a solo projects in our ofice & have lost three projects   Cryingthree that i know of as i havent checked them all yet) this seems to have happened as we have a server which holds all the projects on it.......which to me seems like a normal setup.i am pretty frustrated at this stage as I & am in the process of trying to convince the directors to invest more in revit & get more licenses BUT jeez this is a pretty crucial setback.any advice guys - tnx in advancewes

Edited on: Tue, Dec 5, 2006 at 5:25:30 PM

-----------------------------------

www.yaelk.com.au

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 5, 2006 at 11:58:18 PM | Revit 9.1 warning

#8

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


What version and build of Revit are you using?

I have been using rEvit since version 5 [circa 2003] and have never experienced any loss of data in Revit.  It rarely crashes [maybe 4 times in the past 4 years] and is a very well behaved program.

 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 6, 2006 at 12:44:00 AM | Revit 9.1 warning

#9

weswark


active
weswark Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 6, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


Autodesk Revit Building 9.1 - 20060928_2300I have been overly impressed with file stability in revit & lack of crashes - I also have been using it also since revit 5.0 This has only happened since upgrading to 9.1 & have not found to much information on the web thus far - I am going to keep google'ing on for a bit longer to try to narrow down the cause -  than submit corrupt files to subscription for recovery BUT from what i have read so far there isn't much hope. Any further suggestions guys?Wes

-----------------------------------

www.yaelk.com.au

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 6, 2006 at 2:28:56 AM | Revit 9.1 warning

#10

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I'm using the same build and work in a multi-user environment on a daily basis without any of the issues you've mentioned.

 

What type of network are you running.  It sounds more like your network is losing connection whilst saving?  Nonetheless I'd mention this to your reseller or Autodesk to have them verify that there is no issue present with the software in this matter.

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 6, 2006 at 5:21:17 AM | Revit 9.1 warning

#11

weswark


active
weswark Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 6, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


a basic soho network with one centralised file server (also doubling up as a work station), up until now this has been sufficient as it is a single revit user office (other puters run microstation or archicad)

I don't think this is a network problem BUT none-the-less if a program is asked to save it should handshake with wherever it is saving & save OR warn of a problem.

From what i have read so far is the problem is lessened by using worksets BUT could still happen.


-----------------------------------

www.yaelk.com.au

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 6, 2006 at 2:26:21 PM | Revit 9.1 warning

#12

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


There is your problem right there. Even if you have a few users connecting to your server it takes resources from it. When it is being used as a workstation even more complications start to occur. The fact that Revit is a database program that constantly talks to it file means that you need those extra resources  from the pc. The suggestion that you first save to your pc and then copy to the server is sound advice in your case. I work for a reseller and I have had these issues before with another client. What they did eventually was get a program that backed up their info every night to the server. I know that were going to get a new pc to be the server but either way it works.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 6, 2006 at 9:50:04 PM | Elmo

#13

weswark


active
weswark Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 6, 2004
5 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Elmo from 2006-12-06 08:26:21

"There is your problem right there. Even if you have a few users connecting to your server it takes resources from it. When it is being used as a workstation even more complications start to occur. The fact that Revit is a database program that constantly talks to it file means that you need those extra resources  from the pc. The suggestion that you first save to your pc and then copy to the server is sound advice in your case. I work for a reseller and I have had these issues before with another client. What they did eventually was get a program that backed up their info every night to the server. I know that were going to get a new pc to be the server but either way it works."

I agree with you completely on principle & have warned the powers that be [along time ago I might add] that running an antiquated network like this is not a good thing. Smile - this my be the wake up call that they need......I'll try and hammer it home & get the network upgraded. (although the users computer that is the file server generates minimal traffic - small word documents - sketch line work cad files - email...and that's about it)My gripe with this issue is that up until now Revit has had the foresight /consideration to let the user know if the file they just tried to save didn't complete saving (for any reason). I haven't had a problem up until 9.1 & since then 3-4 problems SO all in all I think puzzle's thread is still extremely valid in stating that this is a Revit 9.1 issue & for users to be VERY AWARE that it may happen to them.The other reason why I think that it is a bug is that all the associated back up files corrupt at the same time??????? anybody got some light on how this would happen. My understanding is that Revit does a 'save as' and add a numerical *.057.rvt extension where the number goes up with each additional save. SO when I click save & at that exact time a network bottleneck occurs - how does it corrupt the previous backups as well as the current backup & the actual rvt file? something is not kosher there which I have to get to the bottom off.Thanks for comments so far guys. Your re-invigorating a few office issues.Wesp.s. what is everone's basic office network setup - as in how many users & what type of server?

-----------------------------------

www.yaelk.com.au

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 7, 2006 at 12:23:02 AM | Revit 9.1 warning

#14

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


The issue original posted by Macca has been resolved by the latest build of Revit.  The build you're using.

 

The fact that you're still experiencing similar issues is a worry, so for that reason definitely file it with Autodesk if you haven't already.  Its definitely best to have a dedicated server.

 

We run Windows Server 2003 on a HP ProLiant ML370 which also runs terminal services sessions on it.  Our network is a very poorly installed out of date 10/100 CAT5 system which desperately needs upgrading.  That said, it is extremely reliable nonetheless.

 

Hope you can get it resolved.  In the meantime the suggested workings by Elmo seems like the best way to go.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 22, 2007 at 3:58:28 AM | Revit 9.1 warning

#15

PPDMarkl


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 9, 2003
3 Posts
No Rating


I have downloaded and installed Revit 20061202_0700 and find that project files saved over a network end up corrupted and unable to be opened or repqired. 

I can only save that it is unsafe to use Revit 9.1 over a network.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2012: Warning Error in a project "HELP"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 15, 2014 at 4:14:03 PM

5

Revit shuts down without warning?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 3, 2008 at 8:55:37 AM

4

Revit 2013 close without warning

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Feb 2, 2013 at 11:12:00 AM

3

Window Mark Duplication Warning

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 3:47:54 PM

1

How to disble annoying Warning

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 10, 2007 at 1:09:03 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1566599

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.0060

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights