RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

272 Users Online (112 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 1, 2006 at 3:26:44 PM | plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#1

draw


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 16, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


I plotted to a file and created a prn file. However my plotting service was unable to plot the prn file. Neither their Xerox 8830, nor their new HP color plotter would produce a complete plot. In fact they weren't even able to send the prn to the HP plotter. Any suggestions?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 1, 2006 at 4:13:03 PM | RE: plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


PDF or DWF Plot files are so 1980's I can't believe anyone would use them in the year 2006.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 1, 2006 at 4:41:11 PM | RE: plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


That was a NOT so great answer. What are you going to do if you don't have a plotter and don't have PDF writer? Perhaps you can enlighten us with your knowledge. I've always sent plt files to my printer company but I have not done so from revit. From my AutoCAD experience, make sure you have the right drivers for the plotter they are using. Most plotting services support several plotter formats so you might try a different model or plotter. I hope it's not a REVIT problem. If it is, let us know.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 1, 2006 at 5:12:41 PM | RE:

#4

draw


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 16, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


PDF or DWF

Plot files are so 1980's I can't believe anyone would use them in the year 2006.


I'm so glad you took time from your busy schedule and reach so deep into your vast knowledge base for an answer to my question.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 1, 2006 at 5:45:53 PM | RE: plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Hey...I don't care for your attitude. The fact of the matter is that .plt fiiles are from the 1980's. I have been one of the most active and accurate posters on this forum. If you don't like it move on. I have the answer, but I refuse to give it to you with that attitude. BTW, you will most likely fail with Revit as well as it involves thinking in terms of the year 2006 and not CAD from the 1980's

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 1, 2006 at 8:46:49 PM | RE: plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#6

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


as Tom said PDF or DWF are your best bet i hav'nt used .prn files since the mid 80's. once and a while i will use .plt files. but mostly PDF or DWF HTH

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 4, 2006 at 8:58:51 PM | RE:

#7

draw


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 16, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


Quoting tomdinmn - 2006-09-01 12:45:53

"Hey...I don't care for your attitude. The fact of the matter is that .plt fiiles are from the 1980's. I have been one of the most active and accurate posters on this forum. If you don't like it move on. I have the answer, but I refuse to give it to you with that attitude. BTW, you will most likely fail with Revit as well as it involves thinking in terms of the year 2006 and not CAD from the 1980's"




Apparently we got off to a bad start and for that, I'm sorry. I never meant to upset you to the degree I did. Your first reply was not what I expected and I responded with sarcasm, which was not well received by you - I truly and unconditionally, apologize.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 5, 2006 at 2:25:44 AM | RE: plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#8

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


When we first got revit we were also used to sending plt files to our external plotting service for printing. After much stuffing around we found it wasn't worth the hassle. PDF and DWF are generally the best solution. All plotting services should be able to open and print a PDF or DWF given the viewers are free. Autodesk supplies a free DWF writer with their products and there are numerous free PDF writers available. BTW, Tom responded very similar to how i would've and he works hard helping people out as much as possible. Have to be careful with the written word, often people can read a tone or sarcasm in text that isn't there... Cheers!

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 5:24:15 PM | plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#9

pdotson


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 3, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

My company has a different issue with printing Revit files.  We are a very large reprographics firm, and accept DWF and PDF files, which print.  Our problem is that the files we receive print low quality, or are missing portions i.e. fill patterns not printing where they show in the viewer as well as fill patterns printing where they don't exist.  Other problems are line weights not accurate, missing drawing segments, and PDF files that print like extremely low res images.  We use 2 separate printing packages and get the same result in both.  (Reprodesk from Oce' and Plotworks from PLP).  We are printing to Oce' 9800's and TDS 800's, with no difference between the different print engines.  Is there anything we can do to enhance the quality inhouse, or do we need to get client to fix files and resend.

 Phil Dotson

System Administrator


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 6:14:56 PM | plotting to a plotting service plotter with a prn file

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I can't speak from the repro side but from an enduser - our CutePDF plots work fine.  Obviously the issue could be the pdf write program, your translation program but if most of us are getting things ok out of REVIT then I don't think it's there.

 

Sounds like it is probably a compatability problem between your engines and the clients writer.  Why don't you have the client do seperate pdf's with different writers and see which one works?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Title block gets cut off when plotting

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 26, 2012 at 6:30:10 PM

1

PRN plot files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 9, 2005 at 6:40:49 AM

2

printing - .prn displays with black background

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 30, 2005 at 9:39:54 PM

1

Plotting Revit Drawings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 1, 2006 at 3:27:16 PM

2

plotting / printing

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Feb 13, 2008 at 2:31:12 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1692928

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151749

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6387

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights