RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

212 Users Online (75 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> sharing a model with another firm over FTP?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 30, 2006 at 7:39:32 PM | sharing a model with another firm over FTP?

#1

bigstein


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 31, 2005
70 Posts
No Rating


Hi I am working in the early stages of sharing a 5 story building model with another architectural firm over an FTP site. I have heard that this kind of sharing involves a really fast connection. Question # 1: Has anyone had experience splitting up the model in this situation? Am I better off splitting by floors? by shell and interior? Question # 2: Would there be 2 central files in a split model, or could 1 central file reside on the FTP? Thanks

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 6:03:22 PM | sharing a model with another firm over FTP?

#2

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


My question to this subject is:  Is there a way to not include a dwg import in the model when uploading to an ftp site?  The only way I can think of not including it would be to remove the link and save as another file and then upload that file.  Was hoping there was a way around doing this.  RA2009

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 6:28:10 PM | sharing a model with another firm over FTP?

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


When you load a CAD file, you have an option of Link instead of Import.  If you do this, the file remain externally.  You can load/unload it at anytime but the location will remain unless you sever the link.  Thus - you can keep the model seperate and only FTP that if you want.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 6:50:56 PM | sharing a model with another firm over FTP?

#4

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


The dwg is an import in my titleblock that is loaded in my model.  I just tried to link it into the titleblock family but it will only let me import and not link.  Is there a way to control the imports of families in the model?

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How to coordinate accurately using an FTP

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 8, 2012 at 4:14:18 PM

4

Sharing and Co-Authoring Revit Models with other consultants

Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Jan 25, 2021 at 7:32:23 PM

0

Revit Workflow and Collaboration Advice

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Feb 28, 2012 at 1:32:47 AM

0

Structural engineer sharing a file with Architect

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 4:23:52 PM

1

Sharing Models

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jul 16, 2013 at 5:45:36 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1690621

Objects:

22215

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 13.5477

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights