RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

213 Users Online (83 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> Disillusionedwith Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 21, 2006 at 3:36:22 AM | Disillusionedwith Revit

#1

goum


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 27, 2006
33 Posts
No Rating


Please, someone I need reassurance that Revit is the right option!!! Don't get me wrong, I think the product is great and have used it for around 9 months. Mostly until now I've used it for designing and modelling for presentation and a little documentation. Now that we've come to document these projects Revit just seems to take forever and is so laborious. For complex detailing it seems to be quicker to use Autocad, (I should be struck down for that)!! I know, I know, I probably need to learn its full capabilities yet and compile a greater library but this of course takes time, something we dont' have a lot of.... who does, and the clients certainly don't make exceptions because you've changed software. I suppose I just need a "pick me up"..... or call someone that cares

-----------------------------------

GN Brisbane, Q Australia

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 21, 2006 at 4:27:45 AM | RE: Disillusionedwith Revit

#2

Aubrey


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 18, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Dear Due, I don't think your blasphemy should get you struck down; if it does I'm next on the list. Revit is a wonderful application, and a powerful modeler, but unless you break large projects into various work groups you are going to move at a glacial pace (regardless of the relative intelligence of your iron idiot.) Even then, when it comes time for the final documents, when you need to have all the work groups turned on to detail the building, you'ld do well to have a novel ready to occupy your time . I'm a classicist; I must have parametric columns and capitals and bases to complete my models. So far I've had to make do with imported 2d AutoCad blocks from my legacy files. This solution is not optimal. I realise that the wizards at Autodesk are responding to our requests as fast as they can code, and God knows they put out new releases on a regular basis, but the proportions of Tuscan, Ionic, Corinthian and Composite orders were finalized 2000 years ago. I don't think this would be asking too much. I've tried modeling the blasted things with limited success. Even simple representations of the rams horn and acanthus leaves add a massive block of data to an already cumbersome model. I love the program and I enjoy modeling. The 3d views have made my job much more rewarding. I think we must keep our eyes on the horizon for what comes next. With the feedback this site gives Autodesk I have no doubt that most of these problems are short term. Just hang in there until the noose doesn't feel so tight. ;>Winking Yours, Aubrey Stringer Griffin, Georgia USA

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 2:45:11 PM | RE: Disillusionedwith Revit

#3

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Firstly Aubrey Autodesk doesn't model up families and I sure as hell wouldn't want them too. They need spend their time on making Revit alot better than what it is already. If have a problem with families you should try and ask for someone to help you here or on AUGI. There are alot people that already know how to model up families and what's more they know what are the best practices when it comes to revit. If your not going to ask for assistance no will be able to help you. I know of alot of Big companies that work on huge projects with no problems when it comes to modelling or documentation and with great success. Revit is maybe the best product I've seen yet when it comes to documentation but if you don't know how to use it then your never going to be able to document or do CD's as quickly as you want. Don't blame Autodesk or the package you don't know how to use it.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 4:36:00 PM | RE: Disillusionedwith Revit

#4

Tadster


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 26, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


Goum, Be not dismayed. The drafting tools in Revit are different, but not unmanageable. If you have not had any triaining, that might be a good option for you to look at. Another may be the online seminars, especially if you are a subscription member. There are firms who take a project up through conceptual and most of the way through design and then push the project out to draftsmen who can whip out detials in ACAD. Another option is to take those misc. details you have in ACAD and import them into Revit detail views. They can then be exploded and modified as native revit objects. This way you can utilize the information you have had on hand for years without starting over.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 9:28:13 PM | RE: Disillusionedwith Revit

#5

dduarte


active
dduarte Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 1, 2006
44 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


If you're going to switch to Revit be prepared to spend time upfront to properly configure plotter drivers for the new software, develop content, develop your project templates, and READ READ READ what you need to learn to develop documents in Revit. Taking Revit classes with your reseller or Autodesk is a must. The more training you get upfront the less time you spend trying to figure out how to do things in Revit. With regard to Aubrey's comment on the classical orders. We have a user that has also had trouble trying to model the classical orders and plutonic solids in Revit. To quote one of Revit's founders "I can assure you that the folks in charge of the geometry kernel in Revit are quite capable of making any geometry you can imagine (having done it before many times in mechanical cad systems). It's just a matter of priorities." -Irwin Jungreis I've tried to address beginner's issues in my blog (http://revitbeginners.blogspot.com) and you'll find other blogs with valuable input. If you have to ask questions Revitcity, AUGI and Support requests are the way to go. Post edited on 2006-08-22 16:30:47

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:28:04 PM | RE: Disillusionedwith Revit

#6

Aubrey


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 18, 2004
12 Posts
No Rating


Friend Elmo, Revit, in fact, does ship with modeled families. They are primitives to be sure, but modeled families none the less. Have you ever tried modeling a Corinthian capital with this software? Or, (God forbid) a Temple of the Winds capital? How about making it parametric so you don't have to re-create the same model for ump-teen thousand different sizes? I've been using Revit and creating elaborate families for four years with great success and enjoyment, but to hold that Revit as a platform doesn't need improvement in certain areas is absurd. My point concerning the columns was to hope that the software geniuses could provide a different solution, perhaps a macro of some sort to address that particular problem. (They do follow our rants on this site you know.) I agree that Revit is the best parametric modeller available. I've spent a lot of money looking at different software, and this platform blows the others away. But, if I express concerns as to its short comings, please don't take it as a personal affront. It was never intended as such. Yours, Aubrey

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:57:21 PM | RE: Disillusionedwith Revit

#7

goum


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 27, 2006
33 Posts
No Rating


Your comments have been appreciated. I guess working with Autocad for so long, we become creatures of habit, and when something new comes along and "rocks the boat a little" we all get a little frustrated. I certainly won't be giving up. I have completed a couple of courses run by our re-seller and will attend more in the future. It was pleasing to see a greater variety of detail components in Revit 9.0.

-----------------------------------

GN Brisbane, Q Australia

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit for Construction Documents [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 24, 2012 at 4:57:38 PM

20

4D simulation in Revit? [ 1 2 ]

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Mon, Jan 17, 2011 at 5:27:39 PM

18

I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 9:25:02 PM

18

We are looking for Revit Users [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 31, 2011 at 10:15:24 PM

17

AutoCad vs Revit [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 6:58:52 PM

16

Site Stats

Members:

1652068

Objects:

22101

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 14.2335

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights